Copyright © 2019, Los Angeles Times | Terms of Service | Privacy Policy

Float judges named for 2014 Tournament of Roses

Glendale’s 2013 Rose Parade entry
A close-up of one of the figures on the 2013 La Cañada Flintridge float entry in the Rose Parade, which captured Animation Trophy for best depiction of life in California. The judges for this year’s floats were announced Thursday, Nov. 21, 2013.
(Tim Berger/Staff Photographer)

The Tournament of Roses announced its float judges for the 125th Rose Parade in Pasadena on Thursday.

Cheryl Cecchetto, James Folsom and René van Rems will score the 2014 floats, including the Glendale, Burbank, La Cañada Flintridge entries, according to a news release.

PHOTOS: Rose Queen announcement and coronation

As president and owner of Sequoia Productions, Cecchetto has worked as main producer for the Academy Awards Governors Ball for 25 years.


Folsom is the Marge and Sherm Telleen/Marion and Earl Jorgensen Director of the Botanical Gardens at The Huntington, where he oversees landscapes, collections and community programming.

Award-winning floral designer René van Rems is a member of the American Institute of Floral Designers and has worked as director of promotions for the California Cut Flower Commission for the past 10 years. 

Criteria for judging flower-covered floats includes creative design, floral craftsmanship, artistic merit, computerized animation, thematic interpretation, floral and color presentation and dramatic impact.

Judges were chosen by the Tournament’s Judging Committee, chaired by Richard De Jesu. Tournament President Scott Jenkins will announce the winning floats on the morning of Jan. 1, 2014.


-- Nicole Charky,

Follow on Twitter: @nicosharki.


Dog owners challenge leash law

La Cañada wants to end liquor sales after midnight

Czajka named COO at Verdugo Hills