Orioles broadcasters Angel and Hunter up for Ford C. Frick Award

The Baltimore Sun

Two Orioles broadcasters are among 41 still in the running for the 2013 Ford C. Frick Award, presented annually by the National Baseball Hall of Fame.

Radio voice Joe Angel and MASN studio host and play-by-play announcer Jim Hunter are in the group that advance to the final round of fan voting, which will run until Oct. 5 at 5 p.m. on

The fans’ top three vote-getters will be placed on the final ballot along with seven other broadcasters determined by a Hall of Fame committee. The final ballot will be announced Oct. 9, and the recipient will be be selected by a 21-member electorate, with the winner announced at the winter meetings in Nashville, Tenn., in December.

Individuals who have broadcast at least 10 consecutive years for a team or network were eligible for consideration during the first round of fan voting, which began Aug. 20.


Out of more than 200 eligible, here were the 41 the fans chose:

Joe Angel, Richie Ashburn, Alan Ashby, Bert Blyleven, Lou Boudreau, Thom Brennaman, Rodger Brulotte, Joe Buck, Steve Busby, Skip Caray, Joe Castiglione, Tom Cheek, Don Chevrier, Gary Cohen, Jerry Doggett, Jacques Doucet, Dick Enberg, Ed Farmer, Ray Fosse, Hank Greenwald, Tom Grieve, Tom Hamilton, Ken Harrelson, Mark Holtz, Pat Hughes, Jim Hunter, Todd Kalas, Bill King, Mike Krukow, Duane Kuiper, Eric Nadel, Joe Nuxhall, Phil Rizzuto, Ron Santo, Mike Shannon, Charlie Slowes, Dewayne Staats, Steve Stone, Pete Van Wieren, Mike Wilner and Bert Wilson.

The Ford C. Frick Award has been given out since 1978. Former Orioles broadcasters Chuck Thompson (1993) and Jon Miller (2010) are among the winners.

Go beyond the scoreboard

Get the latest on L.A.'s teams in the daily Sports Report newsletter.

You may occasionally receive promotional content from the Los Angeles Times.