Clemson upsets Alabama, 35-31, to win national championship

Clemson quarterback Deshaun Watson threw a two-yard touchdown pass to receiver Hunter Renfrow for the go-ahead score with one second left on the clock to give the Tigers a 35-31 victory over the Alabama Crimson Tide in the College Football Playoff national championship on Monday at Raymond James Stadium in Tampa.


First quarter:

  • Alabama RB Bo Scarbrough runs 25 yards for a TD (Alabama 7, Clemson 0)

Second quarter:

  • Alabama RB Bo Scarbrough scores on a 37-yard run (Alabama 14, Clemson 0)
  • Clemson QB Deshaun Watson scores on a eight-yard carry (Alabama 14, Clemson 7)

Third quarter:

  • Alabama K Adam Griffith makes a 27-yard field goal (Alabama 17, Clemson 7)
  • Clemson WR Hunter Renfrow scores on a 24-yard catch and run (Alabama 17, Clemson 14)
  • Alabama TE O.J. Howard scores on a 68-yard catch (Alabama 24, Clemson 14)

Fourth quarter:

  • Clemson WR Mike Williams catches a four-yard pass for a TD (Alabama 24, Clemson 21)
  • Clemson RB Wayne Gallman scores on a one-yard run (Clemson 28, Alabama 24)
  • Alabama QB Jalen Hurts runs 30 yards for a touchdown (Alabama 31, Clemson 28)
  • Clemson WR Hunter Renfrow scores on a two-yard catch (Clemson 35, Alabama 31)