New Mexico beats Texas-San Antonio, 23-20, in New Mexico Bowl

New Mexico quarterback Lamar Jordan, center, is sacked by UTSA safety Michael Egwuagu during the first half of the New Mexico Bowl on Saturday.
(Andres Leighton / Associated Press)

Richard McQuarley ran for two short touchdowns and New Mexico posted its second bowl victory in a half-century, topping Texas-San Antonio 23-20 Saturday in the New Mexico Bowl.

The Lobos’ only bowl win since taking the 1961 Aviation Bowl had been a 2007 victory over Nevada in the New Mexico Bowl.

The Lobos (9-4) gave coach Bob Davie his first bowl win — he lost three times at Notre Dame and also last year with New Mexico in this bowl.

Jarveon Williams ran for 125 yards for the Roadrunners (6-7), who lost in their first bowl appearance in the program’s six-year history.


Lamar Jordan rushed for 81 yards and threw a 34-yard pass to Dameon Gamblin that set up McQuarley’s 1-yard burst for a 23-13 lead with 2:22 left.

Dalton Sturm threw two TD passes for UTSA, including a 4-yard toss to JaBryce Taylor with 25 seconds remaining. The Roadrunners failed to recover an onside kick.

Six Lobos combined for 219 yards rushing. New Mexico was able to keep UTSA’s big-play receivers mostly in check amid windy conditions.