Ryan Newman adds to flurry of NASCAR drivers changing teams

Ryan Newman
Ryan Newman will drive for Richard Childress Racing next year.
(Jerry Markland / Getty Images)

The NASCAR team Richard Childress Racing said Monday it signed Ryan Newman to drive its No. 31 Chevrolet next year in the Sprint Cup Series.

Newman currently drives the No. 39 Chevy for Stewart-Haas Racing but was not re-signed by that team for 2014.

Likewise, Jeff Burton currently drives the No. 31 for RCR but Burton announced last week that he would part ways with RCR after this season.

The moves are the latest in a flurry of NASCAR driver changes for this year and next. Here’s a scorecard of the others announced so far:


--Kevin Harvick will leave RCR and move to Stewart-Haas in 2014.

--Kurt Busch will leave Furniture Row Racing and move to Stewart-Haas in 2014.

--Tony Stewart, Stewart-Haas’ co-owner, is out for the season with a broken right leg.

--Mark Martin, who had driven the No. 55 Toyota part-time for Michael Waltrip Racing, will replace Stewart in his No. 14 Chevy in all but one of the remaining races this year. The exception is Oct. 20 at Talladega, Ala., where Austin Dillon will drive.


--Brian Vickers, who had been another co-driver on the No. 55, takes over that car for this year’s remaining races except Talladega -- where Michael Waltrip himself will drive -- and stays in the car full-time next year.

--Juan Pablo Montoya will not be back to drive the No. 42 Chevy next year for the team Earnhardt Ganassi Racing with Felix Sabates. Montoya will be replaced by 21-year-old Kyle Larson.

--A.J. Allmendinger will drive the No. 47 car full-time next year for JTG Daugherty Racing. Bobby Labonte, currently sidelined after a cycling accident, had driven the car for most of this year.


LA KISS offers three-year contract to Tim Tebow

CBS to have Johnny Manziel covered with ‘Johnny Cam

Were Giants faking injuries to slow down the Dallas Cowboys?

Get our daily Sports Report newsletter