Uber passengers will be able to share their ride information and route with up to five friends or contacts.
That’s one of the new improvements that the ride-share company is rolling out to raise “the bar on safety” for its passengers and drivers.
The company, which announced the measures Wednesday, also has a new feature called “Ride Check” that alerts passengers and drivers if there has been an accident or an unplanned stop.
“If there is a long, unexpected stop during a trip, both the rider and the driver will receive a Ride Check notification to ask if everything is OK,’’ wrote Uber chief executive officer Dara Khosrowshahi in the company’s blog.
The ride-booking service has added a driver-emergency button so that drivers can reach out to an emergency operator from the company. Passengers have had such a feature since March.
Uber has also updated its “Share My Trip” feature that lets passengers share their route and trip information with up to five people. The users can also have the choice of using the feature only during evening rides.
And drivers will no longer see their passenger pick up histories on their phone.
“Going forward, after the trip ends, the driver app will only show the general area where a trip started and ended, not the address,’’ said Khosrowshahi who noted that the new features will be rolled out in the coming months.
Material from the Associated Press was used in this report.