St. Francis fetes its graduates

One hundred and sixty-four young men from the St. Francis High School Class of 2014 graduated on Saturday on the school's Foothill Boulevard campus.

Fr. Matthew Elshoff, OFM Cap., the Provincial of the Western American Province of the Capuchin Franciscan Order, represented his Excellency Bishop José Gómez, Archbishop of Los Angeles, at the graduation. Fr. Tony Marti, OFM Cap., the school president; Thomas Moran, the school principal, and Mark Heydorff, the chairman of the board of directors, also officiated at the ceremony.

Senior Class President Patrick Seamus McGoldrick welcomed the crowd and Valedictorian Michael Ashforth Dimen gave a formal address. Dimen also received the Capuchin Award and Medal for Scholarship.

Certificates of Excellence were awarded to graduates in the following categories: English, Ruairi Alfredo Arrieta-Kenna, Sean Ramon Arrieta-Kenna; Foreign Language, Matthew P. Januzik; Mass Media, Frederick Habib Balian; Mathematics, Donald Angelo Pontrelli; Science, Min Justin Sagong; Social Studies, Christopher Michael Nofal, Jared Edward Sharfstein.

The school faculty also presented Capuchin Medals for excellence in subject areas. The winners, by category were: Art, Kevin James Maloof; Athletics, Tyler Frank Gangi; Biology, Michael Ashforth Dimen; Chemistry, Ruairi Alfredo Arrieta-Kenna; Chorus, Daniel Ryan Stratz; Computer Science, Wesley Beich DeVore; Drumline, Nicholas Andrew Sauer; Economics, Alfred Lee; English, Jeffrey John Quezada; European History, Robert Maxwell Sinclair; Human Geography, Stephen James Krause; Kinesiology, Patrick Seamus McGoldrick; Latin, Michael Joseph Shun; Mass Media, Casey Kennedy Shatraw; Mathematics, Michael Ashforth Dimen; Physics, Alfred Lee; Religion, Gregory Matthew Lupica; Spanish, Sean Ramon Arrieta-Kenna; Theater, Braden Charles DeMattei; United States Government, Jared Deniz Arat; United States History, Nicholas Andrew Sanchez.

At the Baccalaureate Mass on Friday, May 24, Community Service Awards were presented to Patrick Seamus McGoldrick, Sean Michael Bird, Sebouh Jean Bazikian, William James Cote, Richard Alexander Herrera and Frederick Habib Balian. The Fr. Lawrence Caruso Memorial College Scholarship was awarded to Ruairi Alfredo Arrieta-Kenna and Sean Ramon Arrieta-Kenna.

-- Carol Cormaci,

Follow on Twitter: @CarolCormaci.


Releaguing hits La Cañada-area schools

Kate Hansen forgoes upcoming World Cup luge season

Thursday Club installs board of directors

Copyright © 2017, Los Angeles Times
EDITION: California | U.S. & World