Oakmont League awards scholarships


It was an action packed meeting when the Oakmont League of Glendale met for its last meeting before the summer hiatus.

The new board of officers was installed by La Cañada Flintridge resident and club member Nina Ratliff. Taking over the new board positions are Donna Sauer, first vice president; Michaelynn Cashion, second vice president; Nina Ratliff, philanthropy treasurer; Judy Mendicina, president; Jeri Benton, treasurer; Lynn Dittrick, third vice president; Chloe Ross, fourth vice president; Sue Kimberlin, secretary; Amparo Henspetter, ways and means, and Barbara McCullough, corresponding secretary.

The luncheon, held at Oakmont Country Club, was also a platform for awarding scholarships to area students and presentation of philanthropy gifts.

Glendale Community College students receiving $1,000 each were Joshua Amran, Emily Garibian, Andrew Pirijania and Naeiri Hakopian.

Area high school students receiving scholarships of $750 each were Sara Borland, La Cañada High School; Iva Cheva, Crescenta Valley High School; Alan Begian, Clark Magnet; Rima Sahakya, Hoover High School and Brenna Cancilla, Glendale High School.

Ann Chadney, philanthropy chairman for the club, presented cash awards amounting to $4,450 to Sharon Towensend for the Healthy Kids Program, Stela Fejtek, Glendale Community College Disabled Student Program and Services, and Bob Frank, executive director of Hillside School and Learning Center located here in La Cañada Flintridge.


Jane Napier Neely