Float group holds annual dinner

Mayor Don Voss installed new officers and board members Friday night when the La Cañada Flintridge Tournament of Roses Assn. held its 33rd annual dinner meeting at the La Cañada Thursday Club.

This year’s officers include: Ann Neilson, president; Sue Beatty, VP administration; Jim Geoghegan, VP float development; Sharlyn French, secretary; and Betty Jones, treasurer. Also, Nominating Committee Chair Clara Satterfield announced that the following individuals have agreed to serve: Sarah Marshall, membership development; Peggy Hotaling, public relations; James Harrington, construction chair; Brian Jacobs, decoration chair; and Mike O’Connor, site-support chair.

Otis Hutchins led the Pledge of Allegiance and Jean Spomer was emcee for the event, which was catered by Jeff Hemphill of Cut, Carve and Pour in Sierra Madre.

Outgoing President Pam Wiedenbeck, with assistance from Beatty and Geoghegan and committee chairmen Dustin Crumb, Danelle Jacobs and Clyde Hemphill, recognized the many individuals involved in all aspects of the creation of “3-2-1 DIG!”, the association’s entry in the 2011 Rose Parade.

Wiedenbeck recognized the retiring directors as well as the following new directors elected to the board: Peggy Hotaling, Pat Hutchins, Jacob Maitless, Ann Neilson, Mike O’Conner and Joe Thompson; they will join continuing directors Nymia Cucueco, Jim Geoghegan, Dave Granish, Rosemary Hook, Sarah Marshall, Jim Schlueter, Larry Andreason, Sue Beatty, Dustin Crumb, James Herrington, Brian Jacobs and Don Spomer.

The next LCFTRA get-together will be on Friday, Feb. 25, from 6 p.m. to 8 p.m., at Lanterman House, 4420 Encinas Drive, in conjunction with its “Our Tournament of Roses” exhibit currently on display. Everyone 18 and older is invited to attend; just bring an appetizer to share and buy your beverage of choice at a modest price. Overflow parking is available at the La Cañada Congregational Church, 1200 Foothill Blvd.


VHH Women’s Council gives $21,000

Verdugo Hills Hospital recently received a $21,000 donation from the VHH Foundation’s Women’s Council to help support the Computers on Wheels project, a part of the hospital’s electronic medical-record system. Also benefiting from the donation is the Beginnings Family Birth Center, which will use funds to purchase infant warmers.

The gift was made during a luncheon event where Foundation President Yulanda Davis-Quarrie crowned the Women’s Council’s 2011 Board of Directors.

“I am thrilled with the gift and the efforts of the Women's Council,” said Davis-Quarrie. “They have had such a legacy with VHH and we are so appreciative of all that they have done and continue to do for our hospital.”

Suzonne Slaughter, immediate past chair of the Women’s Council, said, “2010 was an exciting year for the Women's Council; we made wonderful new friends and had a great deal of fun. On behalf of the Women's Council, I was especially pleased to have the opportunity to present this gift. I believe that by supporting Verdugo Hills Hospital, we are enhancing the quality of life for this entire community.”

The 2011 Women’s Council Board of Directors are: Sue Wilder, chair; Betty Hurn, chair-elect; Suzonne Slaughter, recording secretary as well as parliamentarian and nominating/resource chair; Teri Rice, treasurer; Jill Haines, membership chair; Eileen Akers, program chair; Virginia Clegg and Loretta Levy, corresponding secretaries; Pauline Hendricks, publicity/historian); and Kate Kaneko (fundraising and special-events chair).

“As the new chair of the VHH Foundation’s Women's Council, I look forward to this year as we have many exciting projects in the works for raising money for VHH,” said Wilder. “We also have several new members who bring new ideas and enthusiasm to the group. 2011 should be a great year for the Women's Council.”


La Cañada Thursday Club to award scholarships

The La Cañada Thursday Club announced this week that applications are available for its annual scholarship awards. One of the main philanthropic projects of this 99-year-old organization is to further the youth of our community in their academic endeavors. Each year, members of the La Cañada Thursday Club celebrate youth at its May Tea by hosting and honoring the recipients of these annual scholarship awards.

Scholarships are awarded based on academic achievement, promise, and financial need. Applications are available at the local high schools, or by contacting the Thursday Club's Scholarship Committee at (818 ) 790-7740.

All applicants must live within the boundaries of the 91011 ZIP code. Deadline for returning applications is March 7.


Kiwanis Club seeks La Cañadan of the Year nominations

Nominations are due by 5 p.m. March 1 for the La Cañadan of the Year award, which is presented at a luncheon each May by the Kiwanis Club of La Cañada.

The honor recognizes an individual or couple for long-term and current broad-based volunteer efforts in the community, demonstrated leadership qualities that show initiative and an active role in bringing “positive recognition to themselves and to the community of La Cañada Flintridge,” according to La Cañadan of the Year chairperson Gigi Schlueter.

Nominations must include the name, address and phone number of the nominee, as well as the contact information of the nominator. The mailing address is: Kiwanis Club of La Cañada, La Cañadan of the Year, c/o Gigi Schlueter, 421 Paulette Place, La Cañada Flintridge, CA 91011. For more information, call Schlueter at (818) 790-2317.


Chocolate Chip Ball set for April 9

The third Annual Chocolate Chip Ball presented by the Junior League of Pasadena, Inc., will take place April 9 at a private club in Pasadena.

The black-tie dinner and chocolate-tasting event will begin with a cocktail hour at 6:30 p.m. Proceeds from the gala will benefit the League’s current focus, nurturing children through family support.

Event tickets are $150 each and are available online at myjlp.com or by calling (626) 796-0244.

Copyright © 2019, La Cañada Valley Sun
EDITION: California | U.S. & World