YMCA of the Foothills honors top volunteer

Chris Waldheim received the 2010 Pat Aho Volunteer of the Year Award on Sunday when the YMCA of the Foothills held its annual recognition night in the Boddy House at Descanso Gardens.

More than 70 community members attended the event, including volunteers, board members, community leaders and Y staff members.

The award was established in 1989 and dedicated to Pat Aho, a former staff member and volunteer. Aho was in attendance Sunday to congratulate Waldheim.

“It is truly an honor to help make an impact with the Y and there are so many others who have contributed as well,” Waldheim said.

Waldheim began serving the local Y organization in 1998 as a member of the board of managers of the Verdugo Hills Family YMCA. He joined the corporate board in 2005 and served through 2010. He was volunteer chairman of the Community Support Campaign in 2008, 2009 and 2010.

Also recognized during the evening for volunteering at the Y were Shilla Aram, Jeanne Baldwin, Eliana Barouni, Adam Berkley, Alison Corti, Sophia Han, William Hong, Emilie Karimian, Eleanor Lamm, Jason Lev, Christ Ordookhanian, Dianne Osburn, Ariel Pezner, Mary Louise (“Louie”) Piday, Eun Jo Sohn and Zosha Wiktor.

Copyright © 2019, La Cañada Valley Sun
EDITION: California | U.S. & World