Big night for La Cañada Chamber of Commerce

Two local residents were in the spotlight Thursday night when the La Cañada Flintridge Chamber of Commerce and Community Assn. installed its 2012 board officers and crowned royalty during a dinner event held at the LCF Country Club that also launched the chamber’s centennial celebration.

Wes Seastrom, a native La Cañadan and longtime local Realtor, accepted the gavel to lead the organization this year. Seastrom, a former La Cañadan of the Year, spoke with gentle humor of his family, friends and his reluctant agreement to join the chamber’s board of directors several years ago. Seastrom is stepping into the shoes of outgoing chairman Joel Peterson.

Lauren Barsamian, a student at La Cañada High School, was named the new Miss La Cañada Flintridge in the contest overseen by the La Cañada Junior Women’s Club. She and the rest of the 2012 Centennial Court, LCHS students Joelle Dorse, Sarah Bartine and Amy Young, as well as Westridge High School student Kendall Millard, received tiaras and sashes denoting their new titles. Outgoing Miss LCF Court members, led by 2011 Miss LCF Robin Miketta, were presented with scholarship checks for their year of service.

Terry Walker and Jennifer Seastrom, co-chairmen of the Centennial Committee, announced plans for a year-long celebration that will include pole banners posted along Foothill Boulevard, unique business mixers and a time capsule, among other activities.

Officers serving with Seastrom on the chamber’s board of directors are Sheila Cook, vice president, Ways & Means; Ed Lund, vice president, community programs; Kim Beattie, vice president, business programs; Gary Stibal, vice president, membership/Ambassadors; Rich Roche, vice president, regional legislative programs; Katherine Markgraf, secretary; Tammy Smith, chief financial officer; Joel Peterson, immediate past chairman.

-- Carol Cormaci, Times Community News

Twitter: @carolcormaci

Copyright © 2019, La Cañada Valley Sun
EDITION: California | U.S. & World