La Cañada names new planning commissioner; Youth Council members

The La Cañada Flintridge City Council named Jeffrey Scott McConnell as a new member of the city’s planning commission on Monday night.

McConnell, a resident of the city for four years, will fill an empty seat on the commission that was vacated when former commissioner Jonathan Curtis was elected to the City Council in March.

On a three to two vote, McConnell narrowly edged out Joshua Cohen, another applicant. Mayor Laura Olhasso and Councilmen Michael Davitt and Dave Spence voted for McConnell. Curtis and Councilman Donald Voss voted for Cohen.

“I think it’s important to give back to your community and to participate in the civic process and I saw this as an opportune way to do that,” McConnell told the Valley Sun. “And make sure that we protect the quality of life we have here in La Cañada Flintridge.”

As a commissioner, McConnell said, his priority will be to ensure that residents who have a concern are heard and have a chance to participate in the planning process. He is senior vice president at Englander Knabe & Allen, a government relations firm. Previously, he worked as a legislative deputy for the city of Los Angeles. He lives in La Cañada with his wife and two young daughters.

The next Planning Commission meeting is May 28 at 6 p.m., when McConnell is expected to be sworn in.

The City Council also named six new members to the city’s Youth Council. Robert Ryan Hobart, a junior at La Cañada High School, was appointed to fill an unscheduled vacancy. Mary Morley Montes, Mica Bernhard, Max Williams, Elizabeth Hong and Anais Stepanian were appointed to fill vacant seats. Mary and Mica are freshmen at La Cañada High School; Max, Elizabeth and Anais are juniors at the school.

The new members of the Youth Council will be sworn in at the Council Chambers on June 7 at 3 p.m.


Follow Tiffany Kelly Google+ and on Twitter: @LATiffanyKelly

Copyright © 2019, La Cañada Valley Sun
EDITION: California | U.S. & World