Nominations sought for LCUSD educator award

Community members are asked to nominate outstanding La Cañada Unified School District educators for consideration for the Rose Harrington Educator of the Year Award offered by the La Cañada Flintridge Educational Foundation’s Endowment Fund. Nominations are due by May 12.

The annual award, which comes with a cash prize, was established in 2002 by a bequest made from the estate of local resident Rose Harrington, who herself was an educator. This is the first time since its inception that nominations have been open to the public.

Previous winners include: Pam Daniger, Leslie Baldwin, Patty Compeau, Jan Rappleye, Pat Harris, Tom Traeger, Mary Linda Vendevelde, Kathy Cockerill, Marina Chahine, Jackie Castro, Mary Jane Hufstedler and Mary Ruth Dicks.

Nomination forms can be found online at Completed nomination forms can be emailed to, faxed to (818) 952-4297, or mailed back to LCFEF: Harrington Award, 4490 Cornishon Ave., Room 211, La Cañada Flintridge CA 91011. Questions can be directed to or (818) 952-4268.

-- Carol Cormaci,

Follow on Twitter: @CarolCormaci.


LCUSD examining special education resources

Thoughts from Dr. Joe: Children dressed for war

Guest Column: On the humbling nature of coincidence

Copyright © 2019, La Cañada Valley Sun
EDITION: California | U.S. & World