Service Clubs: Scholars who met the challenge are honored


he Magnolia Park Optimist Club honored students at its April 15 meeting who were able to overcome many obstacles to achieve their goals.



Evie Magnante



Sue Kyle

did an outstanding job of selecting the students who won "Meet the Challenge" scholarships. "If it is to be, it is up to me!" was their motto. Each student received a $500 scholarship.

The winners are:


Angelina Badalian

from Burroughs High School, who was introduced by

Jeanne Chambers

from the Burroughs Career Center;

Chynna Monforte

from Monterey High School, who received the award from her counselor

Joe Peterson

; and


Marissa Bribiesca

of Burbank High School, who was introduced by

Sue Kyle

(her counselor was unable to attend).

The Basketball Scholarship winner was

Alex Tipton

of Burroughs High School, who received the award from

Jim Lloyd

; and the Golf Scholarship winner was

Emily Tubert

also from Burroughs High School, who was introduced by coach

Mike Krose


Luis Gomez

, a "Meet the Challenge" Scholar for 2009, was a guest speaker. He attends Santa Monica City College. The Magnolia Park Optimist Club meets at 6 p.m. the first and third Thursday of the month at the Burbank Elks Club, 2232 Hollywood Way, Burbank. For more information contact Terry Scott at (818) 842-7950 or at


Mayors' Cup Golf Tourney celebrated

The Burbank Sunrise Kiwanis held their annual Mayors' Cup golf tournament on April 30, which was a beautiful sunny day. Among the former mayors attending were

Mary Lou Howard, Vincent Stefano Jr.


Michael Hastings


Gary Bric

. A very successful event, indeed. The winners of Flight A were:

Darrell Taylor


Al Olivas, Charlie Baker


Brad Lander

of Team

NBC Universal

; and Flight B:

Mike Feix, Allen Martens, Ross Martinez


Terry Scott

of Team Feix.

Flight B winners won in a card-off over Team Burbank who had an identical score of 58 Net; Team Burbank was comprised of Mayor Gary Bric, City Manager

Mike Flad

, airport commissioner

Don Brown

and Deputy City Manager

Justin Hess

. The High School Champions are

Emily Tubert


Chris Kescbasian

of Burroughs High School and

Jin Park


Daniel Chang

of Burbank High School.

The Burbank Sunrise Kiwanis meets at 7 a.m. Wednesdays at the DeBell Club House. For more information, contact

Donna Anderson

at (818) 238-5880 or at


2010 Outstanding Educator Awards

The Burbank Noon Kiwanis Club annually honors one outstanding educator from each school in the Burbank Unified School District. The educator's recognition consists of a certificate and a gift card to be used to purchase educational materials. They also received Certificates of Appreciation from Rep.

Adam Schiff

, State Sen.

Carol Liu

and county Supervisor

Mike Antonovich


These year's honorees were:

Karyn Lombardo


Bret Harte


Sarah Sorowice

, Edison Elementary;

Lisa Carr

, Emerson Elementary School;

Brian Smith

, Jefferson Elementary;

Amy Wayne

, Joaquin Miller Elementary;

Roseann Webb

, McKinley Elementary;

Kirsten Jackson

, Providencia Elementary;

Irene Boelke

, Roosevelt Elementary School;

Karin Anderson

, Stevenson Elementary;

Evelyn Stafford


Walt Disney


Susan Smith

, Washington Elementary;

Cassie Lawhead


John Muir

Middle School;

Heather Good

, Jordan Middle School;

Debbie Farmer

, Luther Burbank Middle School;

Bill Gallimore

, Burbank High School;

Mike Krose


John Burroughs


Todd Doty

, Monterey High School; and

Joy Friedkin

, Burbank Adult Education.

School board member

Debbie Kukta

introduced this year's retiring educators:

Pat Balley, Kathie Romeo, Bill Arthur, Yvonne Rowerdink, Phil Gieselman, Nick Wilhelm, Betty Ryan, Carol Fragale, John Masters, Carolyn Grogan, Judy Doss, Evan Thompson, Marilyn Ward-Lassiter, Fran Zimmermanm, Anne Snell, Mike Krose, Fred Perry, Tim Brehm, Sjaan Buck


Chris Higgins


The Kiwanis Club of Burbank meets at noon every Wednesday at the YMCA, 321 E. Magnolia Blvd. For more information, contact

Harvey Branman

at (818) 954-9294 or at