Your Thanksgiving dinner is cheaper this year. Here's why

Burbank 10-11 softball crushes way to state crown

BANNING — From the beginning of the postseason, the dominance of the Burbank Little League 10-11 All-Stars was uncontested.

Even though the softball squad faced three teams at two tournaments, the theme of dominance remained constant, including at the state Division III level, as Burbank bumped off visiting Adelanto, 12-2, in four innings to capture the state divisional crown at Banning's Lion Park on Tuesday.

The state title is believed to be only the second such in Burbank Little League softball history and perhaps could not have been won in any more impressive way.

Burbank outscored divisional opponents, 32-4, and was only stretched beyond four innings in an opening-round 9-2 victory over Westchester Del Rey on Saturday.

For the entire postseason, which included an uncontested District 16 championship and a two-game sweep over Tehachapi for the Section 2 crown, Burbank blitzed its opponents, 67-6, and only played one full game in five contests.

"I had no doubt that this would be a very, very good team," Burbank Manager Peter Orozco said, "but I'm still a little surprised by the scores. I knew we had a good core that could swing the bat and score, but this was more than I thought."

Tuesday's matchup was the second between Burbank and Section 8 champion Adelanto, which was making its first-ever appearance at the state level.

Burbank defeated Adelanto, 11-0, in four innings Sunday and continued the onslaught Tuesday, scoring three runs apiece in the first and second innings, while putting on the finishing touches with a six-run third.

In the third, Adelanto's defense helped Burbank's cause with four errors, which extended the inning five batters and allowed five runs to score.

Sidnie Dabbaddie, Dana Seavy, Asia Morales, Memorie Munoz, Mia Garcia and Sammy Fiorella all scored during the frame on three hits, with Seavy driving in one run on a single and Garcia doubling home a score.

"We knew we could do this and we're going to do it again next year" said Garcia, whose team took a 12-0 lead after three innings. "I'm so proud of my team."

Garcia had a special hand in the win as the youngster started in the circle and was stout through three innings in striking out six batters and not allowing a run.

Even though Adelanto placed a runner in scoring position in two of three innings, Garcia held the visitors scoreless as Adelanto was 0 for four with runners in scoring position with two strikeouts.

Down, 12-0, Adelanto made its last stand and nearly broke-up Burbank's mercy-rule win in the top of the fourth.

Adelanto's first three batters – Rilijin Carrillo, Sadie Gutierrez and Serenity Castro – all reached on a walk, RBI single and hit batter, respectively, to break up the shutout and bring Adelanto within 12-1.

With runners on second and third, Garcia induced a key popout to catcher Isabella Orozco for the inning's first out.

Garcia then issued a walk followed by a strikeout that loaded the bases with two outs.

Adelanto's Isabelle Valdivia was plunked to force in a run to bring the score within 12-2.

There was no fifth inning, however, as Garcia preserved the 10-run rule by coaxing a comebacker to end the game and secure the title.

"We won this as a team," Isabella Orozco said. "We had the pitching and the hitting and we're coming back next year."

A Munoz double and Fiorella run-scoring groundout accounted for two of Burbank's three runs in the first, with the other score coming on a wild pitch that allowed Isabella Orozco (double) to come home.

Munoz then drove in two runs in the second inning with a double that plated Isabella Orozco and Morales, while Munoz scored on a single from Garcia.

"This was a special group," Peter Orozco said. "The girls were serious about this, they worked hard and look at us now, we're champs."

Burbank's championship squad also included Erika Montoya, Savannah Benson, Kelly Villanueva, Hana Savola and assistant coaches Eric Montoya and Doug Seavy.


Follow Andrew J. Campa on Twitter: @campadresports.

Copyright © 2017, Los Angeles Times
EDITION: California | U.S. & World