Copyright © 2019, Los Angeles Times | Terms of Service | Privacy Policy


De Bell to host city golf championship

De Bell Municipal Golf Course will be the site of the first

Burbank City Amateur Golf Championship Sept. 26-28.

Players will vie for $10,000 in cash and prizes.


To take part in the event, players need to be established with

either the Southern California Golfers’ Assn., the Southern

California Public Links Golf Assn. or the United States Golf Assn.

The entry fee is $115 and the event will feature two divisions --


a championship flight, which is open to all ages, and a class flight,

which will features players 18 and older.

The tournament is sponsored by De Bell and the city of Burbank.

Entry forms must be received by Sept. 15 and can be obtained at

the De Bell golf shop.

For more information, call Scott Scozzola at 845-0022.

“There has never been a amateur championship in the city before,”

said Scozzola, who is the golf professional at De Bell. “We are


hoping to get some very good players and that should make for an

exciting event. We are looking forward to it.”

Wildcats finish season unbeaten

The Burbank Wildcats’ fifth and sixth grade baseball team finished

the Hap Minor Baseball League season with a division championship.

Along with their success in the league, the Wildcats also won the

Hacienda Heights Memorial Day Tournament and placed seventh in the

Triple Crown Sports Magic Mountain Tournament.


The team’s coach is J.R. Schwer and the assistants are Paul

Matsuoka, Bob Hart, Bill Holmes and Mark Bozeman. The players are Ian

Holmes, Patrick Vogel, Kieran Wolf, Kyle Hart, Taylor Dingman, Jamie

Howard, John Schwer, Myles Grene, Chris Tarello, Nick Bozeman and

Andrew Henderson.

The bat handlers are David Schwer and Joseph Bozeman.

Diamondbacks win division title

Kelsey’s Diamondbacks defeated the Posse, 7-3, Wednesday to

capture a championship in the 3/4 Eastern Division in the Burbank Hap

Minor Baseball League.

The team features players Alex Frias, Matthew Kelsey, Philip

Harvey, Timmy Johnson, Nathan DeVries, Daniel Kopman, Joey Pacheco,

Matthew Saaredra, Christopher Coauette, Brandon Epperson, Nicholas

Colbert and Jimmy Elliot. The coaches are Rick Kelsey, Jim Johnson,

Jerry Frias and Greg Epperson