Copyright © 2019, Los Angeles Times | Terms of Service | Privacy Policy

Records broken at Mt. SAC meet


Burroughs in Mount San Antonio College Invitational: Indians’ Anthony Monroy had a fine effort in the event Saturday at Mount San Antonio College.

Monroy placed sixth in the prestigious Individual Sweepstakes race, finishing the three-mile course in 14 minutes 45 seconds. The mark was the eighth-fastest of the day, throughout all divisions, and was the fastest ever by a Burroughs runner on the course (Western Nelson ran 15:06 in 2008).

The Indians boys’ varsity team placed 16th and got finishing efforts from Kamal Chahal (76th; 16:25), Alex Martinez (99th; 16:38), Zach Beimford (117th; 16:52), Kyle Freudenberg (126thl 16:58) and Alec Villalpando (136th; 17:08).


The varsity girls’ team placed 11th behind Giovanna Carrasco (34th; 20:45), Kristen Burroughs (37th; 20:55), Rita Murphy (53rd; 21:41), Sarah Rodriguez (89th; 23:58) and Dana Figueroa (96th; 25:58).

For the junior-varsity boys (10th), Andrew Carrillo (32nd; 17:45), William Stone (35th; 17:52), Jerron Plummer (49th; 18:24), Brandon Mayorga (63rd; 18:53), Jadson Jadraque (95th; 20:32), Joseph Olympia (96th; 20:32), Christian Switzer (97th; 20:33), Alex Alvarez (110; 21:09), Jorge Alpizar (111th; 21:09) and Steven Ochoa (112th’ 21:14) finished.

Finishers in the boys’ sophomore race (sixth) were Grant Carter (10th; 17:32), Jacob Palilla (21st; 17:53), Eric Castillas (27th; 18:15), Max Holt (80th; 20:10), Sean Vasquez (86th; 20:23), Connor Holt (94th; 20:50) and Tony Phi (119th; 22:42).

Finishers in the sophomore girls’ race were Gracia Innocentia (10th; 21:09), Ashley Velasco (13th; 21:19), Samantha Fajardo (39th; 22:29) and Gigi Chamberlain (58th; 23:33).


Lusi Celaya (fourth; 17:28), Chris Van Dam (53rd; 19:24), Francis Hilao (56th; 19:33), Matt Woodward (84th; 20:27), Dalton Burroughs (92nd’ 20:42), Darrett Durbin (94th; 20:45) and Mark Allsman (96th; 20:50) ran in the freshmen boys race (ninth).

Dayanna Yanez (51st; 23:48) ran in the girls’ freshman race.

Burbank in Mount San Antonio College Invitational: The Bulldogs girls’ team had a record-setting effort in Saturday’s event at Mount San Antonio College.

Running in the prestigious Individual Sweepstakes race, the girls’ varsity squad placed 10th out of the Division I schools on the three-mile course. The team time of 1:38:05 was the fastest time ever run by Burbank girls’ team, breaking the previous effort by almost three minutes.

The Bulldogs were paced by McKenzie Paul (11th; 18 minutes 14 seconds), Christina Shamirian (56th; 19:42), Kayla Martil (64th; 19:51), Jenny Yoon (67th; 19:59), Griselda Pereyra (82nd; 20:19), CJ Chua (89th; 20:28) and Kristen Fregoso (67th 20:30).

The boys’ varsity took eighth in their race. They were led by Sergio Fraire (27th; 16:00). Other finishers included Jacob Jun (36th; 16:10), Andrew Wernstrum (41st; 16:17), Jonathan Cisneros (63rd; 16:38), Marko Neskovic (75th; 16:51), Zach Solomon (91st; 17:00) and Kevin Coronel (95th; 17:05).

In addition, Burbank’s boys’ freshmen, girls’ freshmen and boys’ sophomore teams won their heats, while the girls’ junior varsity took second and the boys’ junior varsity took third.

Providence in Mount San Antonio College Invitational: One Pioneer runner set a school record and another posted a top-10 all-time result in the event Saturday at Mount San Antonio College.


In her girls’ race, Jaii Jiang set a new school mark, placing 28th in 21 minutes 54 seconds over the three-mile course. She bested Patty Battres’ mark of 22:07 set in 2003.

In the boys’ race, Rafael Deligio finished 46th in 19:10, putting him at No. 10 on the all-time list. It is the first time a Providence male runner has cracked the school’s top 10 since 1997. In the same race, Eddie Mercado finished in 21:46.


Burbank in Sylmar Tournament: The Bulldogs played well in the event Saturday at Sylmar High, advancing to the championship match.

In the title contest, Burbank lost to Silverado, 25-21.

The Bulldogs lost just once in pool play, to Palisades, and advanced to the championship round. The locals defeated Chatsworth and Lancaster to advance to the final.

Burbank’s Jessica Murphy and Reilly Brennan were named to the all-tournament team.

Burroughs d. Muir, 25-8, 25-5, 25-9: The Indians remained in second place in the Pacific League with a win Tuesday on the road.


The Indians (12-5, 9-1 in league) are one game behind league-leading Arcadia. The two teams will meet in a league match at 3:30 p.m. Thursday at Burroughs.

The Apaches are the defending league champion.

Against Muir, Megan Stephenson and Tessa Dudley had eight kills each.

Jeff Tully