Surf notables to be honored at 2 induction ceremonies

Surfing legends and others who have made an impact on the world of water sports will be honored during two ceremonies this week in Huntington Beach.

The Surfing Walk of Fame will induct its 21st class at 10 a.m. Thursday in front of Jack's Surfboards off Main Street and Pacific Coast Highway.

The six inductees are:

•Randy Rarick, a surfing pioneer who helped create the International Professional Surfers, the first governing body of professional surfing.

•Larry Bertlemann, a Hawaiian surfer who won the 1974 Duke Kahanamoku Classic and was the 12th-ranked surfer in the world in 1979.

•Phyllis O'Donnell, the first women's world surfing champion in 1964.

•John Van Hamersveld, a graphic artist known for designing the poster for "The Endless Summer," an iconic surfing film. He also helped design album covers for the Rolling Stones, the Beatles and the Grateful Dead.

•Mike Haley, a Huntington Beach surfer who won the U.S. Surfing Competition in 1960. He died in 2006 from liver cancer.

•Vince Moorhouse, a former lifeguard chief in Huntington Beach who is credited with developing the city's lifeguard program.

The Surfers' Hall of Fame will induct the last two members of its 2014 class at 10 a.m. Friday in front of Huntington Surf and Sport off Main Street and Pacific Coast Highway.

Inducted Friday will be:

•Timmy Turner, a Huntington Beach surf filmmaker best known for his movie "Second Thoughts," which won Movie of the Year at the 2004 Surfer Poll and Video Awards.

•Rusty Preisendorfer, a renowned surfboard shaper and founder of Rusty Surfboards.

Carissa Moore, 21, a two-time Assn. of Surfing Professionals world champion, was inducted at a special ceremony Friday. She is one of the youngest inductees to the Hall of Fame.

Anthony Clark Carpio

Twitter: @acocarpio

Copyright © 2017, Los Angeles Times
EDITION: California | U.S. & World