Field set for upcoming Governor's Cup

Newport Harbor Yacht Club member Chris Segerblom, who won the Governor's Cup in 2007 and the recent High School Dinghy Nationals, will be among the locals competing in the 44th annual Governor's Cup International Junior Match Racing Championship regatta scheduled July 20 through 25 in the waters off the Newport Pier.

The event will feature top match racers from all over the world.

Segerblom will be the helmsman for one Newport Harbor Yacht Club entry after earning an automatic berth by virtue of winning the inaugural Match Race Clinic & Regatta in May at the Balboa Yacht Club.

Segerblom's crew will consist of Connor Bathen and Kieran Chung.

Also representing the Newport Harbor Yacht Club will be a team including helmsman Andrew Mason as well as crew Peter Kinney and Brooks Clark. The trio finished second at the 2009 Governor's Cup.

The Balboa Yacht Club will be represented by helmsman Ryan Davidson, along with crew members Walker Banks and Brandon Wood.

Davidson won the 420/CFJs fleet at the recent High School Fleet Nationals in Florida.

Racing at the Governor's Cup will be in the afternoons. The round-robin format will pit two boats against each other, with each team of three racing against every other team.

In addition to the Newport Beach entries, the United States will be represented by teams from the Lake Beulah Yacht Club, based in Wisconsin, the Mission Bay Yacht Club and the San Diego Yacht Club.

Australia, Ireland, Argentina, New Zealand and the United Kingdom will also be in the 13-team field.

Additional information will be available on the Balboa Yacht Club website, as well as the information desk during the event.

For information, visit the Governor's Cup page at

—From staff reports

Copyright © 2019, Daily Pilot
EDITION: California | U.S. & World