McConnell grabs top spot

It's been a big year for the Laguna Beach boys' water polo program.

First, the Breakers won the CIF Division 3 championship last month, the first Southern Section trophy for the program.

And, as the saying goes, "To the victor belong the spoils."

On Tuesday, four Breakers and Coach Ethan Damato received special recognition when the 2010 All-CIF-Southern Section Boys' Water Polo Division 3 Team was released.

Accolades went to Breakers Spencer Dodson, Jack Clark and Erik Henrikson, with Damato and Nolan McConnell taking top billing.

McConnell, a junior, was named the division's Player of the Year. Damato was named Coach of the Year for the division.

During the 2010 season, McConnell netted 143 goals with 57 assists and 85 steals, leading the Breakers in all three categories.

Dodson, Clark and Henrikson, who was selected as one of two goalies, were on the 14-member team. Dodson finished the season with 74 goals, 47 assists and 45 steals; Clark had 40 goals, 22 assists and 44 steals and Henrikson recorded 340 saves, 26 steals, four assists and scored five goals, including one in the CIF Division 3 championship game.

Laguna defeated Damien, 11-9, in the Division 3 title game Nov. 20 at the William Woollett Jr. Aquatic Center in Irvine.


The 2010 All-CIF Division 3 Boys' Water Polo Team

Laguna Beach: Spencer Dodson, Sr.; Jack Clark, Sr.; Erik Henrikson (goalie), Sr.

Damien: Adam Sarrail, Jr.; Johnny Beal, Sr.

Palos Verdes: Brian Robinson, Sr.; Buck Doyle, Sr.

Mira Costa: Jake Miller, Sr.; Dana Tuttle (goalie), Sr.

Aliso Niguel: Andy Santala, Jr.

Capistrano Valley: Kyle Catino, Sr.

Santa Monica: Marc Vonderweidt, Sr.

La Canada: Jack Depew, Sr.

Copyright © 2019, Daily Pilot
EDITION: California | U.S. & World