SDYC takes Gov Cup

Skipper Nevin Snow, the youngest racer in the 45th annual Governor's Cup, helped lead San Diego Yacht Club to the title, along with crew Jake LaDow and Jake Reynolds Sunday a few miles off the coast of Balboa Pier.

Newport Harbor Yacht Club, which included skipper Chris Segerblom, Connor Bathen and Brooks Clark, finished second for the second straight year in the 20-and-under match racing event.

San Diego Yacht Club lost only three races in the round-robin series.

Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron (third) and Royal Port Nicholson Yacht Club (fourth) were also among the final four boats.

The semifinal for the top four teams began on Saturday. The first-place team was able to choose its first opponent from the other three teams. San Diego Yacht Club chose to race against Royal Port Nicholson, so the second-place team from Newport Harbor Yacht Club competed against Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron.

NHYC was over at the start, so had to return to cross the line again, falling behind enough that RNZYS was victorious. However, since it was the first of the best two-out-of-three races, NHYC was able to compete against them twice more on Sunday, winning both of those races and moving on to the final.

In the final race against SDYC, Snow was able to cause Segerblom problems at the start, SDYC pulled ahead and could not be caught.

Scuttlebutt Sailing Club (fifth), St. Thomas Yacht Club (sixth), Royal Sydney Yacht Squadron (seventh), Cruising Yacht Club of Australia (eighth), Balboa Yacht Club (ninth), Royal Hamilton Amateur Dinghy Club (10th), Royal Yachting Assn. (11th), King Harbor Yacht Club (12th) also competed.

— From staff reports

Copyright © 2019, Daily Pilot
EDITION: California | U.S. & World