All-CIF selections announced

The CIF Southern Section office on Tuesday released the All-CIF Southern Section selections for baseball, softball and boys' volleyball.

Huntington Beach senior setter Matt Butler was named the Player of the Year in Division 1. Senior middle blocker Andrew TenBrink and sophomore outside hitter TJ DeFalco were the other two members of the Oilers' CIF and Southern California Regional Division 1 championship team to make the Division 1 team.

Senior first baseman Jake Bauers and senior pitcher Jack Westermeyer of Marina, along with Fountain Valley junior first outfielder Brock Lundquist, have been named to the Division 1 baseball team. Lundquist is the MVP of the Sunset League and Westermeyer is the league's Pitcher of the Year. Bauers was drafted in the seventh round by the San Diego Padres Friday in the Major League Baseball First-Year Player Draft.

In softball, Marina junior pitcher Tera Blanco, the MVP of the Sunset League, and Edison senior outfielder Karley Wester, were named to the Division 1 team. Ocean View senior pitching ace, Brittany Hitchcock, the MVP of the Golden West League, has been named to the Division 4 team.

Copyright © 2019, Daily Pilot
EDITION: California | U.S. & World