Class of 2002 wins Newport Harbor alumni basketball tournament

The Class of 2002, led by Nedim Pajevic, Chase Cameron, George Federovtsev and Ben Soza, defeated the Class of 2007 to win the 13th annual Newport Harbor High Alumni Boys' Basketball Tournament at the Sailors gym on July 27.

The Class of 2002 won overtime games in the semifinals and final. Soza, known more for his football exploits while attending Newport Harbor (he also played football at Orange Coast College), clinched the title-game victory by flying in from the wing for a one-handed rebound and hammer dunk to give the Class of 2002 a three-point lead with about 30 seconds left.

Pajevic, a 6-foot-9 former Sea View League Co-MVP, played collegiately at UC Santa Barbara, Weber State and Santa Ana Community College.

Federovtsev, who finished his prep career at Capistrano Valley High after attending Newport Harbor as a 6-foot-9 underclassman, made a three-pointer that sent the semifinal game into overtime.

The 2002 roster also included Eric Nutter, Jair Hernandez and Bob Small.

The Class of 2007, which won the 2012 alumni tournament, was led by Weston Dunlap, who was an All-American in volleyball as a 6-8 middle blocker at UCLA.

The '07 squad also included Chad Stassel, Matt Helfrich and Taylor Lobdell.

The 2007 unit defeated the Class of 1992 in the semifinals. The 1992 team, which has won the event in previous years, features Justin McIntee, a former collegiate standout at Vanguard University, as well as Paig Parrish, Chuck McGavern, Eddie Martinez and Kevin Saks.

Cody Caldwell, who as a 6-6 sophomore outside hitter helped lead Loyola of Chicago to the NCAA men's volleyball Final Four last spring, was among the nearly 60 players who competed in the eight-team event.

— From staff reports

Copyright © 2019, Daily Pilot
EDITION: California | U.S. & World