Sailing: Newport Harbor captures two titles in San Diego

The Newport Harbor High sailing team won the Pacific Coast Interscholastic Sailing Assn. Gold Pacific Coast Championship and the Bill Wakeman Perpetual Trophy in San Diego on April 27.

The team featured Campbell D'Eliscu, Sean Segerblom, Katie Calder, Briggs D'Eliscu, Jack Martin, Eliza Moody, Megan Roach, Michael Sabourin and Carter Scott.

Newport Harbor and the next three teams move on to the Interscholastic Sailing Assn.'s National Championship Regatta for the Mallory Trophy on May 9-11 in San Diego.

Newport Harbor also won 16 of 18 races to claim the Team Race Pacific Coast Championships in the Newport Bay on April 19. The team will represent Newport Harbor and PCISA at the ISSA Racing National Championship in Seabrook, Texas, over Memorial Day weekend.

Newport Harbor competed with two teams in the Silver Championships this past weekend in Northern California. Sailors Marley Mais, Andrew Person, Patrick Shannon, Grace Vandervort, Madeline Bubb, Philip Bradburne, Katie McAllister, Alexis Miller, Emily Overstreet, Kiley Roach, Peyton Russell, and Riley Schupak placed fifth and sixth in the fleet of 28 teams.

— From staff reports

Copyright © 2019, Daily Pilot
EDITION: California | U.S. & World