Woloson named Player of the Year

The accolades keep coming for the Laguna Beach High boys' volleyball program.

A month after the Breakers won both a CIF Southern Section and CIF Southern California Regional title, senior opposite Travis Woloson has been named the Player of the Year in Division 2. Laguna Beach's Lance Stewart was named Coach of the Year in the division.

The 2010 All Volleyball All CIF-Southern Section Division II team presented by the LA84 Foundation. The team was selected by the CIF-SS Boys' Volleyball Coaches' Assn. and was released Monday by the Southern Section office in Los Alamitos.

Woloson was one of five Breakers to earn All-CIF status for the season.

Senior outside hitter Scottie Chapel and junior setter Robbie McKnight were named first-team. Senior middle blocker Reed Thompson was a second-team selection and junior libero Troy Donenfeld made third-team.

"I think it's pretty to have a lot of our team recognized by CIF," Woloson said. "It definitely shows that what we accomplished was a complete team effort, and not just a single person. That's how we accomplished our goals this year, as a team."

Laguna won both a CIF Southern Section and State Regional championship last month.

The CIF award ass the second major honor for Woloson this season: he also shared the Orange Coast League Most Valuable Player award with senior teammate Scottie Chapel.

Thompson and McKnight were named first-team all-league and Donenfeld, junior outside hitter Alek Burk and junior middle blocker Colin Ceithaml made second-team.

Both Woloson and Chapel, who play for the Balboa Bay Volleyball Club 18s team, leave for Austin, Texas, Thursday to compete at the Junior Olympics Volleyball Tournament.

In other Southern Section news released Monday, Laguna junior pitcher/shortstop Chris Paul was named to the All-CIF Division 4 second-team. Paul also was a first-team All-Orange Coast League selection.

2010 All CIF-SS Division 2 Volleyball Team

Player of the year: Travis Woloson, Laguna Beach, opposite, Sr.

Coach of the Year: Lance Stewart, Laguna Beach

First Team

Scottie Chapel, Laguna Beach, outside hitter, Sr.

Robbie McKnight, Laguna Beach S Jr.

Keats Stanley, Westlake, outside hitter, Jr.

Travis Magorien, Westlake, setter, Jr.

Geoffrey Powell, Claremont, middle blocker, Sr.

Austin Kingi, Thousand Oaks, outside hitter, Jr.

Nick Ferry, Valencia/Valencia, outside hitter, Sr.

Dean Pollema, Valley Christian/Cerritos, setter, Sr.

Andrew Sato, Agoura, libero, Jr.

Second Team

Reed Thompson, middle blocker, Sr.

Jacob Delson, Westlake, outside hitter, Soph.

Andrew Zetterberg, Claremont, outside hitter, Sr.

Scott Hendrickson, Thousand Oaks, outside hitter, Jr.

Brett Anema, Valley Christian/Cerritos, middle blocker, Sr.

Steve Crane, Valencia/Valencia, setter, Sr.

Stacy Kelly, Royal, setter, Sr.

Nick Butier, San Luis Obispo, outside hitter, Jr.

Thor English, Royal, libero, Soph.

Third Team

Troy Donenfeld, Laguna Beach, libero, Jr.

Colby Magorien, Westlake , opposite, Fr.

Jason Avina, Thousand Oaks, outside hitter, Soph.

Patrick Stalwick, Claremont, outside hitter, Sr.

Chip Blaney, San Luis Obispo, outside hitter, Sr.

Adam Wills, Ocean View, outside hitter, Soph.

Connor Olbright, El Modena, setter/opposite, Sr.

Zech Burkhardt, Rio Mesa, outside hitter, Sr.

Tyler Yanez, Burroughs/Burbank, setter, Jr.

2010 All-Orange Coast League Baseball Team

Five members of the Laguna Beach High baseball team have been named to the 2010 Orange Coast League Baseball Team.

Senior pitcher Casey Miller, junior pitcher/shortstop Chris Paul and junior infielder/outfielder Keaton Jones, all made first-team.

Junior outfielder Austin Paxson, who rolled his ankle during the middle of the season and missed three weeks of action, was named second-team.

In addition, senior catcher Spencer Friedrich and sophomore outfielder Shane Selfridge were named Honorable Mention.

"They're all very deserving of the honor," Laguna Coach Jeff Sears said. "They (Paul, Miller, Jones) were my 1-2-3 hitters and last in the season, Austin (Paxson) was our No. 4 hitter.

"I was really impressed with Spencer (Friedrich) this year. He caught every inning of every game and accepted his role really well."

2010 Orange Coast League Baseball Team

Most Valuable Player: Marc DeFrenza, Sr., Estancia

Pitcher of the Year: Marc DeFrenza, Sr., Estancia

First Team

Laguna Beach: Casey Miller, Sr.; Chris Paul, Jr.; Keaton Jones, Jr.

Calvary Chapel: Chad Wallach, Sr.; Ryan McDaniel, Sr.; Brett Perry, Sr.

Costa Mesa: P.J. Maloney, Jr.; Jesse Fox, Sr.; Ryan Boulger, Sr.

Estancia: Ryan Boselo, Sr.; Victor Trujillo, Jr.

Godinez: Gabriel Sauceda, Sr.

Second Team

Laguna Beach: Austin Paxson, Jr.

Calvary Chapel: J.T. McLuckey, Soph.; Kyle Mellinger, Soph.

Costa Mesa: Brandon Kelly, Sr.; Brian Waldron, Sr.; Tyler Sheffner, Jr.; Garrett Hirsch, Sr.

Estancia: Alex Trancoso, Soph.; Ryan Cherney, Sr.; Josh Dominguez, Sr.; Matt Carlysle, Jr.; Andres¿¿¿ Gonzalez, Sr.

Copyright © 2019, Daily Pilot
EDITION: California | U.S. & World