Peterson wins it again at H.B. Pier

Lakey Peterson of Santa Barbara made it two in a row and Hawaiian Kaimana Jaquias joined his father as a champion at the National Scholastic Surfing Assn. Nationals.

Division finals were held Saturday at the south side of the Huntington Beach Pier.

Both Peterson and Jaquias overtook heat leaders to win their respective titles.

Peterson was able to claim here second-straight Open Women's crown when final heat leader, Nage Melamed, earned an interference in the final minutes of the finals matchup that cut her second score by half.

Jaquias was able to overtake Conner Coffin on his second scored wave to win the Open Men's title.

Jacquias now joins his father, Kaipo, on the list of NSSA champions.

Kaipo Jaquias won the 1987 Open Junior title.

"I'm just so happy to have my name up there with my father," Jaquias said. "I wanted to have my name up there with his."

This year's Open Junior title was won by Keala Naihe of Hawaii.

2010 NSSA national champions:

Open Men's Champion: Kaimana Jaquias

Open Women's Champion: Lakey Peterson

Open Junior Champion: Keala Naihe

Open Boy's Champion: Kanoa Igarashi

Open Longboard Champion: Shaun Thompson

Open Mini Grom Champion: John Mel

Explorer Men's Champion: Ezekiel Lau

Explorer Women's Champion: Leila Hurst

Explorer Junior's Champion: Parker Coffin

Explorer Boy's Champion: Taylor Clark

HS Varsity Men's Champion: Ezekiel Lau

HS Varsity Women 's Champion: Kaleigh Gilchrist

HS Varsity Longboard Champion: Jeff Newell

HS JV Men's Champion: Jonah Carter

HS JV Women's Champion: Lani Doherty

HS JV Longboard Champion: Eli Gillis

NSSA Air Show Champion: Sam Orosco

Dwyer surf team places second

The Dwyer Middle School surf team of Huntington Beach took second-place June 19 at the 2010 NSSA National Championships held at Salt Creek in Dana Point. The team, coached by Stacy Wood, Mark Peters and Mark Ortiz, is Konoa Iragashi, Davis Freud, Niley Smith, Mike Peters, George Gleason, Hunter Barrett, Quinten Hegberg, Laine Ortiz, Samantha Cendro, Crystal Dean, Tyler Campisi, Alex Carvalho, Kyle Kowalski, Dane Scott, Christian Seebold and Jake Chubbs.

Copyright © 2019, Daily Pilot
EDITION: California | U.S. & World