As part of a crackdown on distracted drivers, the California Highway Patrol is not just looking for people illegally talking or texting on their cellphones.
Officials will also be looking for drivers eating, reading magazines or applying makeup.
From 6 a.m. Friday until 6 a.m. Saturday, the CHP is having a “zero tolerance” cellphone enforcement day.
While there is no law saying someone can't eat while driving, a distracted driver is in violation of the law.
Under California’s vehicle code, a driver can be ticketed $145 to $1,000 for having “wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property.” Officers will also be tracking these distractions and the number of distracted drivers, because there are not very good data on just how many distracted drivers there are.
-- Sam Cohen, Fox 40 Sacramento
Photo: Glendale Police officer stops a motorist for using a cell phone while driving on Glendale Ave. just south of California Ave. in Glendale on Tuesday, October 5, 2010. Credit: Raul Roa / Staff Photographer