Law enforcement officials on Thursday demonstrated the proper way to strap a child into a safety seat for parents who attended a seminar at Glendale Adventist Medical Center.
The seminar was organized to address a new California law that went into effect this year that increased the age children must be restrained in a safety or booster seat — from 6 to 8 years old, or until they reach 4 feet 9 inches tall.
The law was revised because children face greater risk riding in the front passenger seat, according to the California Highway patrol. The risk is reduced by 33% when they’re moved to a rear passenger seat.
National Child Passenger Safety Week also begins Sept. 16.
-- Veronica Rocha, Times Community News