Big Canyon seeks fourth straight victory

Big Canyon Country Club remains the team to beat in the 15th annual Jones Cup, which will be held at Shady Canyon Country Club Wednesday, starting at noon.

The Jones Cup is the competition between the five area country clubs that features fivesomes consisting of two club pros, ladies club champion, men's club champion and senior men's champion.

Big Canyon won in dramatic fashion last year, edging host Santa Ana Country Club by one stroke in the two best-ball format. The event also features Mesa Verde, Newport Beach and Shady Canyon country clubs.

Big Canyon has won nine Jones Cup events.

— Steve Virgen

Big Canyon

Captain: Robert Pang

Professional: Michael Castillo

Ladies champion: Kayleigh Horn

Men's champion: Taylor Wood

Senior men's champion: Jamie Held

Mesa Verde

Captain: Tom Sargent

Professional: Mike Fergin

Ladies champion: Madelaine Campbell

Men's champion: Steve Rhorer

Senior men's champion: Ed Susolik

Newport Beach

Captain: Tony Letendre

Professional: Carlo Borundo

Ladies champion: Isako Takada

Men's champion: Ted Embry

Senior men's champion: Harry Esayian (alternate)

Santa Ana

Captain: Geoff Cochrane

Professional: Nick Kumpis

Ladies champion: Margaret Darnell (alternate)

Men's champion: David Kendall

Senior men's champion: Mark Du Pont

Shady Canyon

Captain: Brian Gunson

Professional: Kirk Manley

Ladies champion: Robyn Puckett

Men's champion: Eoin Middaugh

Senior men's champion: Gary Voorhest

Copyright © 2017, Los Angeles Times
EDITION: California | U.S. & World