Copyright © 2019, Los Angeles Times | Terms of Service | Privacy Policy

Laguna Beach City Council to swear in 2 new, 1 returning members

Toni Iseman, Peter Blake and Sue Kempf will be sworn in Tuesday for their seats on the Laguna Beach City Council.
(File photos)

The welcoming of new and veteran city leaders is on the agenda for Tuesday’s Laguna Beach City Council meeting.

Toni Iseman will return for a sixth consecutive term on the council. Art gallery owner Peter Blake and Planning Commissioner Sue Kempf will be sworn in for the first time as council members, replacing Mayor Kelly Boyd, who served for 16 years and did not run for reelection, and Mayor Pro Tem Rob Zur Schmiede.

The four-year terms of council members Bob Whalen and Steve Dickterow end in 2020.

Blake received the most votes with 14.7%, eking out a lead with 4,808 votes to incumbent Iseman’s 4,741, according to the city clerk’s records Wednesday night. Kempf received 4,429 for 13.6% of the vote.


Ten other candidates ran for office, including Zur Schmiede, who dropped out of the race in September to care for his younger brother, who was seriously injured in a car accident.

A total of 13,454 ballots were cast out of 16,791 registered voters for the at-large positions, according to the clerk’s office.

The first task of the new council will be to appoint members to vacant spots on several committees and subcommittees.

The meeting will begin at 6 p.m. in the council chambers at 505 Forest Ave. in Laguna Beach.


Twitter: @faithepinho