Marina’s Dane Brenton shares Big 4 League MVP award in football

Marina junior Dane Brenton, shown fighting for yardage against La Jolla on Dec. 7, 2019, helped the Vikings win their first league title since 1986.
(Drew A. Kelley)

Marina High junior Dane Brenton shared the Big 4 League MVP award after helping the football team win its first league title since 1986.

The Vikings also took two of the league’s other big awards. Senior running back Pharoah Rush was the Co-Offensive Player of the Year, and senior lineman Isaia Regan shared the Lineman of the Year award.

Brenton, Rush and Regan helped the Vikings go 12-3 overall and 3-0 in the league. Marina made the playoffs for the first time since 2001 and won its first CIF Southern Section title in program history, beating Pasadena Muir 18-9 in the Division 11 championship game.

The Vikings’ season finally ended in a 27-14 loss to La Jolla in the CIF State Southern California Regional Division 4-A Bowl Game.


The No. 2-seeded Vikings beat the No. 4 Mustangs 18-9 to win the CIF Southern Section Division 11 championship on Friday at Westminster High.

First-team all-league players from Marina included senior receiver/defensive back/kicker Eric Church, senior defensive back Ronny Slavens, senior linebacker Nathan O’Rourke, senior linebacker Conner Long, junior quarterback Jack Miller, junior defensive end Darren Vasquez and junior running back/linebacker Brantt Riederich.

Brenton led Marina with 39 catches for 683 yards and 13 touchdowns and had five interceptions on defense, including two in the victory over Muir. He also averaged nearly 30 yards per kickoff return and 26 yards per punt return.


Rush shared the running back duties with Riederich but still tallied team-best totals of 169 carries for 1,258 yards and 13 touchdowns. He had six 100-yard rushing games.

Regan had 56 tackles for the Vikings, including seven tackles for a loss. He also had five quarterback sacks.

Marina senior offensive lineman Chase Hoglund, senior offensive lineman Joseph Kelso, junior quarterback Gavin del Toro, senior defensive back Maguire Dobkins, senior linebacker Ryder Malloy and senior defensive end Seth Wilson all earned second-team accolades.

Segerstrom senior running back/defensive back Andrew Schouw earned Big 4 League Co-MVP honors, while Segerstrom junior quarterback Angel Vega was the Co-Offensive Player of the Year.

Garden Grove senior lineman Tafisi Gauta shared the Defensive Player of the Year award with Segerstrom senior linebacker Reymundo Garcia.

Segerstrom senior defensive end Saul Ramirez was the Co-Lineman of the Year.


Support our sports coverage by becoming a digital subscriber.


For more sports stories, visit or follow us on Twitter @DailyPilotSport.