Ex-'Eaters make team

Former UC Irvine All-Americans Ryan Bailey, Jeff Powers and Tim Hutten are among 16 members of the United States men's water polo team, announced Monday by Team USA Coach Terry Schroeder, that will compete in the FINA World League Super Final and FINA World Cup later this month.

Bailey, a three-time Olympian, Powers, a two-time Olympian and Hutten all helped the Americans win silver at the Beijing Olympic Games, the U.S. men's program's first medal since 1988.

Bailey, a 6-foot-6, 250-pound two-meter man, has played in six world championships. He scored six goals in Beijing. He was a three-time All-American at UCI, from 1994 through 1998, and was named to the Mountain Pacific Sports Federation's 15th Anniversary team.

Powers, a 6-7, 230-pound two-meter man, also scored six goals in Beijing. He was a two-time All-American at UCI (1998-2002) and was a third-team honoree on the MPSF 15th Anniversary team.

Hutten, who joined the national team after being named NCAA and MPSF Player of the Year as a senior in 2007, was a two-time All-American for the Anteaters.

The World League super final is July 13 through 18 in Nis, Serbia.

The World Cup is set for July 25 through 31 in Oradea, Romania.

The U.S. men's team is ranked No. 4 in the world.

— From staff reports

UCI among elite

UC Irvine finished fourth in the 2009-10 Division I-AAA Athletic Directors Assn. Directors' Cup standings for schools without a football program.

UCI, 90th overall among 278 schools with and without football, has finished in the top five among Division I-AAA schools each of the last four years.

The Anteaters tallied 201.5 points with NCAA postseason appearances from baseball, men's soccer, men's and women's tennis, as well as men's and women's golf.

Denver (306.8 points) won its third consecutive All-Sports trophy, followed by St. John's (296.5), UC Santa Barbara (205), UCI and Portland (193).

The UCI women's tennis team also shared the 2009-10 DI-AAA ADA All-Sport Trophy with Boston University, Charleston, DePaul, Fairfield, Illinois Chicago, Indiana U.-Purdue U. Fort Wayne, Long Island, North Florida, Pepperdine, St. Mary's (Calif.), Virginia Commonwealth, Wichita State and Winthrop.

Stanford University won its16th consecutive NACDA Directors' Cup award. Points are awarded based on a school's finish in up to 20 sports, 10 men's and 10 women's.

— From staff reports

Copyright © 2019, Daily Pilot
EDITION: California | U.S. & World