Breakers honored for record-setting season

Eight members from Laguna Beach's record-setting football team have been named to the 2011 All-Orange Coast League team.

Senior running back/defensive back Norton Penney, junior running back/defensive back Drake Martinez, junior quarterback/defensive back Larry Stewart and junior offensive guard/defensive end Spencer Anderson were named first team.

Laguna Coach Mike Churchill said that senior running back/defensive back Zach Jaffe, senior wide receiver/defensive back Derek Reigel, junior running back/linebacker Robert Clemons and junior two-way lineman Blake Hester where named to the league's second team.

"Norton (Penney) is a complete football player," Churchill said. "He blocks for his teammates and excels running the ball and was a very good kick returner. We will miss him. Larry (Stewart) has outstanding stats but what he cares about most is winning. Spencer (Anderson) works at getting better all the time. Drake (Martinez) can do, and does it all, for us."

Martinez ended his junior season by setting school single-season records for rushing yards (1,889), touchdowns (27 rushing, two receiving) and scoring (188 points). Penney ran for 1,189 yards and 18 touchdowns and also caught three scoring passes, and Stewart threw for 1,360 yards and 18 touchdowns.

Junior running back Robert Murtha of league champion Estancia repeated as the league's Offensive Player of the Year. The Defensive Player of the Year honor was shared by Estancia senior Alipa Peters and Godinez senior Andrew Espinoza.

Laguna went 10-3, finished in third place in the Orange Coast League and advanced to the semifinals of the CIF Southern Section Southern Division playoffs. It was only the third 10-win season in program history.


Twitter: @MikeSciacca

Copyright © 2019, Daily Pilot
EDITION: California | U.S. & World