Royal Port Nicholson Yacht Club wins Governor's Cup

Royal Port Nicholson Yacht Club put together a remarkable closing string of races to win the 46th Governor's Cup Sunday at courses north of the Newport Beach pier.

RPNYC won six straight races over two days, in the semifinals and finals, and took down its fellow New Zealanders, Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron.

Champion RPNYC was made up of skipper Tim Coltman, middle Adam Middleton and bow James de Lisle. They dethroned San Diego Yacht Club, earning the required three wins in as many races in the semifinals.

Another three straight wins came against Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron, which had skipper David Hazard, middle Scott Barnes and bow Michael Boucher.

At one point during the international youth match racing championship, Royal Port Nicholson Yacht Club sat in seventh. But the team quickly shot up to second before taking down SDYC and RNZYS.

San Diego Yacht Club, which won the Governor's Cup last year, finished fourth.


Governor's Cup

Overall Results

1. Royal Port Nicholson Yacht Club

2. Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron

3. Cruising Yacht Club if Australia

4. San Diego Yacht Club

5. Royal Freshwater Bay Yacht Club

6. Balboa Yacht Club

7. Royal Sydney Yacht Squadron

8. Mission Bay Yacht Club

9. San Francisco Yacht Club

10. Gotesborgs Kungliga Segel Sallskap

11. Chicago Yacht Club

12. Newport Harbor Yacht Club

— From staff reports

Copyright © 2019, Daily Pilot
EDITION: California | U.S. & World