Copyright © 2019, Los Angeles Times | Terms of Service | Privacy Policy

2004-05 team takes CdM alumni hoops tourney

Brett Hirata scored 10 points, while Ryan Lance added eight and Tyler Lance seven to lead the team from the classes of 2004 and 2005 to a 44-39 victory over a team of combined early 1990s graduates in the final of the Jack Errion Memorial Alumni Basketball Tournament at Corona del Mar High on Sunday.

The winning team, which also included Pancho Seaborn, Jay Northridge, Taylor McDonald, Kevin Welch, Tom Welch and Bobby Jacobs, claimed its second title in three years. It was the team’s third overall crown.

The runner-up team, which won the event in 2011, featured Nick Mansour, Jon Upham, Weston Johnson, Warren Johnson, Leo Johnson, Brian Fracalosy, J.R. Walz and Josh Walz.

Mansour had 12 points and Upham added nine in the title game.


The event is named for the late Jack Errion, who coached at the school for 10 seasons from 1976 through 1986.

— From staff reports