Five earn all-league honors

Five members of the Laguna Beach High girls’ soccer team have earned All-Orange Coast League honors for 2007.

Junior Claire Rubel was named the league’s co-defensive player of the year. First-team members included junior Laura Renault and senior Wesley Hamchuk. Named to the second team were junior Courtney Capobianco and sophomore Holden Penney.

The girls’ program turned in one of the most productive seasons in school history, earning first, second- and third-place league finishes at the three levels (junior varsity, frosh/soph and varsity).

The varsity turned in the fourth-best season in the 26 years the school has fielded girls’ soccer teams. This year’s squad scored 60 goals en route to a 10-10-3 season.


Senior goalkeeper Lauren Caris allowed the fewest goals among league goalies, 11 in nine matches.

Senior defenders Sasha Speare and Sara Appel and senior Sarah Rolfing were veterans of the team.

Capobianco was the team’s scoring leader and Penney led the Breakers in assists.

The Breakers were coached by Bill Rolfing and assistants Kenny Marsh and Tiffany Willis.


Team awards


  • Coach: Bill Rolfing
  • Overall record: 10-10-3
  • League finish: Third
  • Co-MVP: Laura Renault; Claire Rubel
  • Offensive co-MVPs: Courtney Capobianco; Holden Penney
  • Defensive MVP: Wesley Hamchuk
  • Most Inspirational: Sarah Rolfing
  • Most Improved: Madeline Arterburn
  • Coaches Awards: Sara Appel; Sasha Speare
  • Team Captains: Sara Appel; Lauren Caris; Wesley Hamchuk; Sarah Rolfing; Sasha Speare
  • Junior Varsity

  • Coach: Jesus Moxica
  • Overall record: 11-1-5
  • League finish: First
  • MVP: Lura Hills (goalie)
  • Offensive MVP: Alexandra Terwilliger
  • Defensive MVP: Jessee Good Man
  • Most Inspirational: Shelby Serra
  • Most Improved: Alexandra Rieckhoff
  • Coaches Award: Riley Westgaard; Victoria French; Camille Borges; Christina Gardilcic; Hannah Dawe
  • Team Captains: Maya Butler; Shelby Serra
  • Frosh-Soph

  • Coaches: Trevor Slavick, Melissa Freschauf
  • Overall record: 5-5-3
  • League finish: second
  • MVP: Shannon Orias
  • Offensive MVP: Kativa Strickland
  • Defensive MVP: Sarah Sampson
  • Most Inspirational: Ashley Bourne
  • Most Improved: Cassidy Robinson
  • Coaches Award: Sara Hornbuckle; Parker Yamasaki
  • Team Captains: Katie Bekken; Alexis Leavitt; Sarah Sampson.

  • Advertisement