Alcone leads list of Breaker honorees

Five members of the Laguna Beach High boys’ water polo team have been named to the 2008 All-CIF-Southern Section Boys’ Water Polo Division III Team.

The team was selected by the Southern California Water Polo Coaches’ Assn.

Senior Victor Alcone was named to the 13-member first team. He was joined on the team by Nolan McConnell, the lone freshman to make first team and only one of two "” Redlands’ Eric Dyer was named third team "” to make the Division III team.

Two Breakers also were named to the second team: seniors Preston Head and Brett Thompson. A third Breaker, junior David Brunner, was named to the third team.


Ely Bonilla, a junior who helped guide Montebello to the Division III championship, was named Player of the Year. The Oilers’ Kenny Clements was named Coach of the Year.

Laguna reached the Division III semifinals, where it was eliminated by Montebello.


First Team


?Laguna Beach: Victor Alcone, Sr.; Nolan McConnell, Fr.

?Chaparral: Trevor Sprague, Sr.

?Montebello: Arturo Villalpando, Sr.; Erik Gonzalez, Jr.; Jonathan Ruiz, Jr.

?Murrieta Valley: Dylan Baliani, Sr.; Matthew Puig, Sr.

?Damien: Brian Donohoe, Sr.; Eric Osterberg, Soph.; Eavid Purington, Jr.

?Redlands: Andrew Heine (goalie), Sr.

?Temescal Canyon: Lexie Coliflores, Jr.



Second Team

?Laguna Beach: Preston Head, Sr.; Brett Thompson, Sr.

?Montebello: Raymond Torres, Jr.

?Murrieta Valley: Trent Virgil, Soph.; Cody Wetherbee, Soph.; Jantz Johnson, Soph.

?Damien: Walker Shockley (goalie), Jr.; Johnny Beal, Soph.

?Redlands: Matt Hanson, Sr.

?Temescal Canyon: Trevor Heglund, Sr.

?Chaparral: Shane Leverson, Sr.


?Redlands East Valley: Garrett Womack, Sr.

?Ayala: Josh Thomasson, Jr.


Third Team

?Laguna Beach: David Brunner, Sr.

?Redlands: Joe Barich, Jr.; Danny Anderson, Sr.; Eric Dyer, Fr.

?Temescal Canyon: Matt Henry, Sr.; Chris Thatcher, Sr.

?Chaparral: Kody Moffatt, Jr.

?Redlands East Valley: Chauncey Lockwood, Sr.; Brandon Faust, Sr.

?Great Oak: Greg Merrill, Sr.

?Ayala: Tyler Grupp, Sr.

?Yucaipa: Trevor Hoyt, Sr.; Brian Haney, Sr.

Alcone also headed the 2008 All-Orange Coast League team, to which he was selected as MVP. Nine other players off Laguna’s league championship team made the all-league team.

"” Mike Sciacca