Lopes leads off All-Sunset League team

The Sunset League baseball all-league team 21 players including two who nabbed top honors.

The 2012 team is headed by Edison senior Timmy Lopes who was named MVP. Marina junior Jake Bauers was named Rookie of the Year. The Pitcher of the Year honor went to sophomore Jacob Nix of Los Alamitos.

2012 All-Sunset League Baseball

MVP: Timmy Lopes, Sr., Edison.

Pitcher of the Year: Jacob Nix, Soph., Los Alamitos.

Rookie of the Year: Jake Bauers, Jr., Marina.

First Team

Pitchers: Christian Abe, Sr., Huntington Beach High; Greg Harris, Jr., Los Alamitos; Tyler Jones, Jr., Edison. Catcher: Andrew Yazdanbakhsh, Sr., Los Alamitos. First base: Brock Lundquist, Soph., Fountain Valley. Infield: Kevin Isa, Sr., Marina; Brian Schales, Soph., Edison; Jordan Desquin, Sr., Newport Harbor; Frank Padulo, Jr., Los Alamitos; Lenny Brewster, Sr., Huntington Beach. Outfield: Brett Urabe, Sr., Huntington Beach; Jake Arledge, Jr., Marina; Jordan Lucio, Jr., Fountain Valley. Designated hitter: Mike Hickman, Fr., Fountain Valley. Utility: Michael Farris, Sr., Los Alamitos.

Second Team

Pitchers: Shane Grace, Sr., Huntington Beach; Jackson Westermeyer, Jr., Marina; Austin Olivas, Jr., Marina. Catcher: Landon Marshall, Soph., Marina.First base: Cody Marshall, Jr., Los Alamitos. Infield: Tyler Mildenberg, Jr., Marina; Dan Patzlaff, Soph., Fountain Valley; Justin Brand, Soph., Fountain Valley. Outfield: Austin Sojka, Soph., Marina; Connor Bitzer, Sr., Fountain Valley; Brendan Heffern, Jr., Los Alamitos; Patrick Ivison, Sr., Los Alamitos. Designated hitter: Daniel Austin, Sr., Los Alamitos. Utility: Sean Vetrovec, Soph., Newport Harbor.


Ocean View senior Timmy Robinson was named MVP and six other Seahawks made the 2012 All-Golden West League baseball team. Seniors Colton Johnson and Jonah Desjardin and junior Luke Fell made first team. Senior Travis Sparks-Jackson, junior John Giacone and sophomore Zach Honnes made second team. The league's pitcher of the year was Tyler Mahle of Westminster and Rookie of the Year was Nestor Linares of Segerstrom.


Brethen Christian baseball coach Bernie Smith announced that senior Cameron Smith was named first team, senior Billy Bryson second team, and senior Daniel Lee honorable mention, on the 2012 All-Academy League baseball team.

Copyright © 2019, Daily Pilot
EDITION: California | U.S. & World