San Diego YC takes lead at Governor's Cup

The second day of the 46th annual Governor's Cup saw a familiar crew jump in front of the pack on Thursday.

Defending champion San Diego Yacht Club is the leader with nine wins. Nevin Snow is trying to become the eighth skipper in the history of the Governor's Cup to steer a team to two titles.

San Diego Yacht Club went into Thursday tied with three other teams with a 5-1 record during the first flights of round-robin action. San Diego Yacht Club has only lost twice in the first two days of the five-day event, which is considered the oldest youth regatta in the country.

Cruising Yacht Club of Australia and Royal Sydney Yacht Squadron of Australia are both tied for second place with eight wins.

Host Balboa Yacht Club, Royal Freshwater Bay Yacht Club of Australia, Royal New Zealand Yacht Club Squadron and Royal Port Nicholson Yacht Club of New Zealand are each in third place with seven victories. Royal New Zealand Yacht Club Squadron won the event in 2009 and 2010.

There are seven strong teams heading into Friday's semifinals.

Mission Bay Yacht Club of San Diego has five wins and it will race against the top seven.

There will be racing on the third day for the rest of the field, which include Chicago Yacht Club, Newport Harbor Yacht Club, San Francisco Yacht Club of Belvedere, Calif., and Göteborgs Kungliga Segel Sällskap of Sweden.

— From staff reports

Copyright © 2019, Daily Pilot
EDITION: California | U.S. & World