Youth Scene: Red Wings edge Bats

Alec Muirhead singled in Matt Hernandez with the winning run in the top of the sixth and the Red Wings won for the second time in as many days when they knocked off the Bats, 5-4, in an Ocean View Little League Minor A Divison game Saturday.

The Red Wings built a 3-0 lead in the first inning with a two-run double from Aiden Daniels being the key blow. The Bats drew even with three runs of their own in the second as Jake D'Amico doubled in a pair of runs.

Daniel Kotkosky earned the victory with three innings of no-hit relief. He struck out seven, including the last five batters he faced. The Red Wings (4-6, 7-11) earned the No. 6-seed for the Minor A postseason tournament which starts Friday.

On Friday , Nick Dagarin of the Red Wings and Chris Soto of the Bulls engaged in a pitchers duel that wasn't decided until the final inning of a game eventually won by the Red Wings, 5-1.

Dagarin allowed just one hit and an unearned run over 5 2/3 innings and struck out seven. Soto conceded just two hits over 4 2/3 inning and fanned 10.

The Red Wings tallied an unearned run in the first, and that was the only score of the game until the Red Wings added four insurance runs against a pair of Bulls relievers in the sixth.

Kotkosky (two for two, two runs) and Jeremy Roe (two for three, two RBIs) and accounted for all four Red Wings hits. Angel Zamora made the defensive play of the game in the fourth in center field, gunning down Ivan Soto at second base as Soto tried to stretch a lead-off single.

— Reader submission


Fastpitch Softball

South Huntington Beach Fastpitch Softball has announced its All-Star teams for upcoming tournament action. . The teams will begin postseason tournament play Friday. SHB also will host its own Surf City Classic tournament May 31-June 2.

8-Under Silver All-Stars: Rachael Arnold, Daphnee Cantrell, Piper Covey, Maysen Cusma, Willow Dickey, Emma Francisco, Delaney House, Devon House, Mallory Mottles, McKenna Prijatel, Danielle Sparks, Gracie Wood.

8U Gold All-Stars: Lily Baggett, Erin Bunker, Hannah Craft, Emma Craft, Ashley Dean, Tegan Holdaway, Sophia Knight, Delaney Mitchell, Zoe Nakutis, Scarlet Russ, Makenna Tayenaka, Nicole Wills.

10U Silver All-Stars: Hannah Canfield, Chloe Covey, Dylann Douglass, Julia Douglass, Jenna Gorden, Lucy Granger, Sydney Jensen, Reagan Merk, Katie Reed, Angelina Rivas, Mackenzie Scott, Rachelle Whitaker.

10U Gold All-Stars: Hailie Benko, Nancy Clyne, Emily Elliott, Isabella Espinoza, Delaney Faubert, Amber Flory, Talia Hannappel, Hannah Jacobsen, Shelby Ortiz, Kiera Selbo, Emily Sparks, Grace Uribe.

12U Gold All-Stars: Hannah Bendoraitis, Zoey Berg, Grace Caswell, Danielle Craft, Taylor Franklin, Erin Greenlaw, Sam Hammer, Morgan Jackson, Hannah Kennedy, Angelina Knight, Corina LaBrake, Sage Royston, Lauren Taylor.

14U Gold All-Stars: Emily Armijo, Indiana Boes, Kayla Cleland, Courtney Craft, Alyssa Curtis, Amanda Jackson, Olivia Melgoza, Isabelle Morales, Grace Mosher, Madison Nakutis, Ally Villa, Tiffany Whitaker; Jaelyn Vidales.

Copyright © 2019, Daily Pilot
EDITION: California | U.S. & World