Four on first team

Costa Mesa High boys' water polo juniors James Rydjeski, Quinn Smith and Raymond Andrade, as well as Sage High senior Arya Nakhjavani, have all earned first-team All-Orange Coast League honors for the recently completed season.

Rydjeski, a goalie, set the Costa Mesa single-season record with 325 saves. He is a repeat first-team selection after helping the Mustangs (19-8, 4-1) finish second in league and advance to the CIF Southern Section Division 2 playoffs, where they fell to Chaparral, 16-4, in a wild-card match.

Smith led Costa Mesa in goals (65), assists (31) and steals (76). Andrade finished with 61 goals, 27 assists and 24 steals.

Nakhjavani, a center, was also a repeat first-team selection for the Lightning (5-7, 2-3), who finished fourth in league. He led Sage Hill with 65 goals.

Costa Mesa senior Sagang Wee and junior Matt Brown, as well as Sage senior Ryan Sung and sophomore Chris Wan, were second-team all-league honorees. Estancia junior Cody Nelson also made the second team.

Juniors Jack Dodson and Cade Baldridge of league champion Laguna Beach shared Orange Coast League MVP honors.

— From staff reports

Copyright © 2019, Daily Pilot
EDITION: California | U.S. & World