Pacific Symphony announces 2014-15 season

Cellist Yo-Yo Ma and violinists Itzhak Perlman and Joshua Bell will be among those starring in the Pacific Symphony's upcoming season, the orchestra announced in a release Thursday.

The 2014-15 season, which marks the 25th anniversary of Music Director Carl St.Clair's tenure with the group, is set to launch Sept. 25 with a performance by Bell. Later offerings include a tribute to composer Leonard Bernstein and the 14th annual American Composers Festival, which spotlights Andre Previn.

The release labeled the symphony's upcoming program "its most significant season to date" and "pure St.Clair," with more special guests than usual. The director, for his part, contributed modest statements.

"For me, it's a time to pay homage to our community, a chance to say thank you to our patrons," St.Clair said in the release. "The Pacific Symphony musicians and the role they have played in the success of the orchestra are the true heroes of our story. It is our partnership that is the real legacy of the past 25 years."

For more information, visit

—Michael Miller

Copyright © 2019, Daily Pilot
EDITION: California | U.S. & World