Surf season reaches its crest


The Assn. of Surfing Professionals World Tour just capped of its

2002 season in spectacular fashion Tuesday with Andy Irons winning

the Pipeline Masters in solid 8- to 10-foot Hawaii surf.


In doing so, Irons became only the third surfer in history to win

the Pipeline Masters, the world title and the Vans Triple Crown of

Surfing in the same year.

Irons solidified his win in the last three minutes of the final by


scoring an 8.4 to defeat Shane Dorian, who had been leading

throughout the final. Rounding out the final was the super freak of

surfing himself, Kelly Slater, in third, and in fourth, Mick Fanning,

who was named Rookie of Year by the association.

Also doing well from the U.S. were Damien Hobgood and Cory Lopez,

finishing in equal fifth, and Taylor Knox, finishing in equal


The final ratings for the 2002 Assn. of Surfing Professionals


World Tour are as follows:

1. Andy Irons

2. Joel Parkinson

3. Luke Egan

4. Taj Burrow

5. Mick Fanning

6. Michael Lowe

7. Kieren Perrow


8. Daniel Wills

9. Kelly Slater

10. Mark Occhilupo

Stay tuned as next year should be even more exciting. Will Irons

defend his world title or will “The Super Freak of Surfing” regain

what was once rightfully his?

My money’s on Slater if he decides he wants that elusive seventh

title. Until next year:


* JAMES PRIBRAM is a Laguna Beach resident, professional surfer

and co-founder of “They Will Surf Again,” a nonprofit foundation. He

was also a member of the Water Quality Advisory Committee. He can be

reached at