Copyright © 2019, Los Angeles Times | Terms of Service | Privacy Policy


Summer soccer camps begins

Laguna Beach High School Summer Camps is offering three sessions for local youth this year.

The first session is a girls’ camp (Camp I) and will run Monday through June 29. Daily sessions are 8 a.m. to 11 a.m. at Laguna Beach High. A second session, a boys’ camp (Camp II), will be held July 9-13 from 9 a.m. to noon, also at the school. The final session is open to both boys and girls (Camp III), includes special tournament-style training and will be held July 23-27.

The camps are open to youth ages 6 to 16.


Professional level training will be offered with an emphasis placed on individual ball skills, speed work, small game tactics, goalkeeping and match level decision making. All players will be grouped appropriately.

Laguna Beach High boys’ and girls’ varsity coaches Patrick Coyne and Bill Rolfing will lead all camps with instruction in a positive learning environment.

To register for the first two camps, contact the Laguna Beach Community Services (located at 515 Forest Ave.) at (949) 497-0716, ext. 6, or visit For Camp III, contact Coyne at, or Rolfing at

Wacholder, Turner fall in semis


For the second straight week, Rachel Wacholder (Laguna Beach High, Class of 1993) and partner Tyra Turner bid to win a championship on the Assn. of Volleyball Professionals 2007 Crocs Tour, was denied by the world’s top-ranked team.

On Sunday in Charleston, S.C., Wacholder and Turner, seeded second at the Charleston Open, nearly prevented Misty May-Treanor and Kerri Walsh from winning yet another women’s tournament title but the top-seeded team won the semifinal battle, 21-12, 14-21, 15-12.

The three-set match marked the first time in the tournament that May-Treanor and Walsh had lost a game.

Later in the day, May-Treanor and Walsh continued their domination of the tour by winning their eighth consecutive title of the season with a 21-13, 21-12 victory over No. 3-seed Nicole Branagh and Elaine Youngs.

The pervious week, Wacholder and Turner fell 21-19, 21-15, to May-Treanor/Walsh in the final of the Atlanta Open.

On the men’s side, fourth-seeds Mike Lambert and Stein Metzger defeated second-seeds Phil Dalhausser and Todd Rogers, 21-19, 21-15, to win their second title of the tour. The win by Lambert and Metzger marked the first time in 16 AVP Crocs Tour events that the title did not go to a team seeded first or second.

Dain Blanton (Laguna Beach High, 1990) and partner Paul Baxter, seeded 19th, lost a tight match in winner’s bracket play to No. 3-seed Karch Kiraly/Kevin Wong, 23-21, 21-17. The pair then was eliminated from title contention following a 21-16, 23-21 setback to No. 9 Casey Jennings/Mark Williams in contender’s bracket play.

Blanton and Baxter finished in a ninth-place tie.


The AVP Crocs Tour has a two-week hiatus before returning with the Seaside Heights Open at Seaside Heights Beach, N.J. July 5-8.

Current tour standings:

Men’s Standings

Phil Dalhausser/Todd Rogers, 2,934; 2. Jake Gibb/Sean Rosenthal, 2,772; 3. Mike Lambert/Stein Metzger, 2,196; 4. Casey Jennings/Mark Williams, 1,800; 5. Matt Olson/Jason Ring, 1,692; 6. Matt Fuerbringer/Sean Scott, 1,584; 7. Karch Kiraly/Kevin Wong, 1,566; 8. Anthony Medel/Fred Souza, 1,512; 9. John Hyden/Brad Keenan, 1,476; 10. Nick Lucena/Will Strickland, 1,296.

Women’s Standings: 1. Misty May-Treanor / Kerri Walsh, 3,150; 2. Tyra Turner/Rachel Wacholder, 2,484; 3. Nicole Branagh/Elaine Youngs, 2,322; 4. Dianne DeNecochea/Barbra Fontana, 2,196; 5. Jennifer Boss/April Ross, 2,052; 6. Annett Davis/Jenny Johnson-Jordan, 1,782; 7. Holly McPeak/Logan Tom, 1,764; 8. Carrie Dodd/Tatiana Minello, 1,602; 9. Angie Akers/Brooke Hanson, 1,332; 10. Angela Lewis/Priscilla Lima, 1,296.