Spirit of Laguna Award nominees announced

The Laguna Beach Chamber of Commerce board of directors announced the nominees for the annual Spirit of Laguna Awards.

There are a total of 12 categories. The winners will be announced at the annual Board of Directors Installation ceremony from 6 to 9 p.m. Jan. 27 at Tivoli Too!, 777 Laguna Canyon Road.

The categories and nominees are:


Business of the Year

1) Stu News

2) Tommy Bahama

3) Mission Hospital – Laguna Beach Campus


Volunteer of the Year

1) Hans Scharer

2)Ken Kenworthy

3) Roseanne Nitti


Citizen of the Year

1) June Neptune

2) Sandi St. John


Green Enterprise of the Year

1) Montage Resort

2) Laguna County Water District

3) Waste Management


Building Industry of the Year

1) Tresor Development

2) Architect Marshall Innis


Nonprofit of the Year

1) Laguna Beach Girl Scouts

2) Boys & Girls Club of Laguna Beach

3) Rotary Club of Laguna Beach


Restaurant of the Year

1) House of Big Fish and Ice Cold Beer

2) Lumberyard

3) Mozambique


Government Official of the Year

1) John Pietig, city manager

2) Anne Johnson, planning commissioner

3) Tom Christopher, fire division chief


Retail Store of the Year

1) Coast Hardware

2) Ganahl Lumber

3) Hobie Surf Shop


Gallery of the Year

1) Salt Gallery

2) Joanne Artman Gallery

3) Redfern Gallery


Professional Service of the Year

1) Surterre Real Estate (Michael Gosselin)

2) Doctors Ambulance (Dave Sanford)

3) Robert Gamez, CPA

The nominees for the 12th category, the Chamber's board member of the year will be announced at the dinner.

—Kelly Parker

Twitter: @KellyParkerTCN

Copyright © 2019, Daily Pilot
EDITION: California | U.S. & World