Copyright © 2019, Los Angeles Times | Terms of Service | Privacy Policy

Fitzpatrick named Planning Commission chairman

The Costa Mesa Planning Commission on Monday night chose newly reappointed Commissioner Jim Fitzpatrick as chairman of the five-member board for the next two years.

Commissioner Robert Dixon was selected as vice chairman.

Commissioner Colin McCarthy served as chairman before Fitzpatrick’s selection.

The City Council appointed Fitzpatrick on Feb. 19 to a two-year term, and also gave four-year terms to McCarthy and Commissioner Tim Sesler, an attorney.

Commissioner Sam Clark, who had been serving as vice chairman, was not reappointed for another four-year term. Commissioner Edward Salcedo resigned from his seat in January, which created an unforeseen vacancy. Fitzpatrick is serving the remainder of Salcedo’s term through February 2015.

—Bradley Zint

Twitter: @bradleyzint