ENTERTAINMENT Ministry of Gossip

Celebrities take Super Bowl XLIX

The denizens of Tinseltown got into the game-day spirit on Super Bowl Sunday.

Stars including John Travolta, Steven Tyler, Kenny Chesney and Mark Wahlberg made an appearance at the University of Phoenix stadium, while others took to social media to promote their high-profile ads or share how they were gearing up for Super Bowl XLIX, with the Seattle Seahawks facing off with the New England Patriots in Glendale, Ariz.

Here's a sampling:


Singer Katy Perry, this year's halftime performer, got a little spiritual.



"Frozen" star Idina Menzel asked for positive energy ahead of singing the national anthem.



"Mom" star Anna Faris touted her husband, Chris Pratt, who got involved in an heroic Super Bowl bet with fellow Marvel star Chris Evans.




Funny men Will Ferrell and Kevin Hart buddied up in the VIP section of the University of Phoenix stadium.


"The Vampire Diaries" star Nina Dobrev, right, showed off her seat.

Oh hey super bowl... How you doin?

Una foto publicada por Nina Dobrev (@ninadobrev) el


"Blended" star Drew Barrymore enjoyed a football date with her husband, Will Kopelman.


A date night my husband can get behind ! #SuperBowllove

Una foto publicada por Drew Barrymore (@drewbarrymore) el


Victoria's Secret Angel Adriana Lima posed with the day's flag bearers.


with the flag bearers of #superbowl ¿¿¿¿ good luck to both teams tonight...

Una foto publicada por Adriana Lima (@adrianalima) el


"Battle Creek" star Josh Duhamel made some predictions.


Swami says 27-24, #Patriots.

A photo posted by Josh Duhamel (@joshduhamel) on


New "Fashion Police" host Kathy Griffin poked fun at Olympic commentator Johnny Weir's festive outfit.


Here's MY #SuperBowl team. @Johnnygweir

Ein von Kathy Griffin (@kathygriffin) gepostetes Foto am


And here's the full ensemble, in all its glory.


"Arrow" stars Stephen Amell and Brandon Routh also had a few things to say about it.


"The Hunger Games" actress Elizabeth Banks got to see it firsthand.


Olympic medalists, bootylicious, moi. This is my #SBXLIX

A photo posted by Elizabeth Banks (@elizabethbanks) on

Sports Illustrated model Kate Upton promoted her upcoming commercial.


So excited for #GameOfWar commercial to air tonight! #SuperBowlXLIX @quinnmurphy1 @brycescarlett

A photo posted by Kate Upton (@kateupton) on


"Scandal" star Bellamy Young was impressed by a fan who built a snack-adium./p>



Chrissy Tiegen and her hubby, John Legend — who sang "America the Beautiful" — got hyped at DirecTV's viewing party.



Halftime guest performer Lenny Kravitz also took a snap with Legend.



Reality star Kim Kardashian, husband-rapper Kanye West and pals Legend and Tiegen celebrated at the DirecTV bash on Saturday

every house should be a waffle house

A photo posted by @chrissyteigen on


Double date at the Waffle House

Uma foto publicada por Kim Kardashian West (@kimkardashian) em


It's going up....on a Saturday ¿¿¿¿

A photo posted by Kim Kardashian West (@kimkardashian) on


Oscars telecast producer Craig Zadan made a pitch for his upcoming big day.



Country star and "The Voice" coach Blake Shelton pre-gamed in his own Blake Shelton-y way.



"Glee" actress Jenna Ushkowitz hit the slopes.


Happy Super Bowl Sunday!!! ¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿

A photo posted by @jennaushkowitz on


"The Mindy Project" star Mindy Kaling focused on her Nationwide ad airing during the game — and a guest star made a surprise appearance.


Focused as hell #superbowl

A photo posted by Mindy Kaling (@mindykaling) on




Proof I’m not invisible. Just look at how into me he is! @Nationwide #InvisibleMindy #SuperBowl

A photo posted by Mindy Kaling (@mindykaling) on


"Brooklyn 99" actress Melissa Fumero shared some sage wisdom.



E! personality Ross Matthews showed off his Seahawks pride.

My mom just sent me this pic of my @Seahawk playoff shirt from 1983. #LIFELONGFAN #GOHAWKS #SUPERBOWL

A photo posted by Ross Mathews (@helloross) on


Making @Seahawks mini cupcakes for our #SuperBowl mini party. #GOHAWKS #WEARE12 #IMIN

A photo posted by Ross Mathews (@helloross) on


"Guardians of the Galaxy" star Zoe Saldana and "Pitch Perfect 2's" Anna Kendreick pledged their allegiance.




Supermodel Gisele Bundchen got into gear to support husband and Patriots quarterback Tom Brady.

Are you ready?!?! Let's go Pats!!!!! #superbowl ¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿ Vocês estão prontos?!?! Vamos Pats!!!!!

Uma foto publicada por Gisele Bündchen (@giseleofficial) em

Follow me on Twitter @NardineSaad.

Copyright © 2016, Los Angeles Times