Festival of Books
Everything you need to know about the Festival of Books


Langston Hughes
Marlon James wins Anisfield-Wolf prize for fiction
Marlon James wins Anisfield-Wolf prize for fiction

The $10,000 Anisfield-Wolf Book Awards, which recognize books that make important contributions to the understanding of racism and cultural diversity, have named Marlon James as this year's fiction winner for his novel "A Brief History of Seven Killings." Other winners include David Brion Davis, whose most recent book, "The Problem of Slavery in the Age of Emancipation," won the National Book Critics Circle Prize in nonfiction last month. Davis was recognized with a lifetime achievement award. Richard S. Dunn gets the Anisfeld-Wolf prize in nonfiction for "A Tale of Two Plantations: Slave Life and Labor in Jamaica and Virginia." In the first year...