PEN announces 2014 literary award winners
PEN announces 2014 literary award winners

PEN announced the winners of its 2014 literary awards Wednesday -- most of them, anyway. The recipient of the PEN/Robert W. Bingham Prize for Debut Fiction, a $25,000 prize, will not be named until the awards ceremony Sept. 29 in New York. The winners of the more than a dozen awards that were announced include poet Frank Bidart, playwright David Rabe and essayist James Wolcott. Books published in 2013 were eligible for the 2014 awards. The complete list of announced winners is below. PEN/Bellwether Prize for Socially Engaged Fiction, founded by Barbara Kingsolver ($25,000): To an author of an unpublished novel that addresses issues of social justice. The prize also includes a publishing...