Debbie Allen, Stephen Hartke to mentor YoungArts fellows in L.A.

Debbie Allen, Stephen Hartke to mentor YoungArts fellows in L.A.
Choreographer Debbie Allen leads a master class during the 2014 YoungArts Miami program in Florida. She will be doing the same in Los Angeles, joining a roster of established artists mentoring emerging talents in a range of fields. (Robert Leslie / Courtesy of YoungArts)

That crackle in the air? Could be widespread arts mentoring sweeping across Los Angeles this week.

On Tuesday, the National YoungArts Foundation kicks off its 2014 YoungArts Los Angeles program. Through March 23, 100 Southern California emerging artists in the visual, literary and performing arts will participate in workshops and "master classes" with leaders in their fields.


Emmy-winning choreographer Debbie Allen and Grammy-nominated composer Stephen Hartke are among those who will work with the YoungArts fellows, whose talents will be showcased in performances, screenings and an art exhibition at week's end.

A photography and visual art show is scheduled for Friday night at the Los Angeles Theater Center, downtown; that will be followed by a jazz concert; readings of poetry, fiction and nonfiction; and a screening of short films at the same location. Visual arts students will make a visit to Laura Owens' 365 Mission space as well as Alice Koenitz's Los Angeles Museum of Art.

On Saturday night, YoungArts fellows in dance, theater and voice will perform. That will be followed by a classical music concert on Sunday.

The National YoungArts Foundation is based in Miami, where its flagship program, YoungArts Week, takes place every year. The L.A. offshoot, in its second year, is one of two regional competitions. The other takes place in New York.

Artistic advisors to the National YoungArts Foundation include L.A. Opera’s Plácido Domingo, architect Frank Gehry and choreographer Bill T. Jones.

YoungArts alumni include actors Viola Davis, Kerry Washington and Adrian Grenier; Metropolitan Opera star Eric Owens; choreographer Desmond Richardson; four-time Tony Award nominee Raúl Esparza; visual artist Hernan Bas; and internationally acclaimed multimedia artist Doug Aitken.